Susanne Lohkamp

9 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Third Daughter

Recommended for its complex characters and a story based on a little-known part of history. The author provides a glossary of Yiddish and Spanish words used and a list of resources for readers.

PREMIUM

The Whisperer

Those who like Scandinavian mysteries and the subtle buildup of psychological thrillers will enjoy this book. An essential purchase, even if Fossum’s previous works are not in the collection. [See Prepub Alert, 2/4/19.]
PREMIUM

Her Father's Secret

Readers of more serious Scandinavian mysteries may be disappointed, but fans of Laura Lippman and Sophie Hannah might enjoy this novel. The cliff-hanger endings are sure to commit readers and libraries to the whole series.

Under Red Skies: Three Generations of Life, Loss, and Hope in China

Kan presents an engaging debut memoir that would make an excellent book club choice and has strong YA crossover appeal.
PREMIUM

Don't Eat Me: A Dr. Siri Paiboun Mystery

Fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Boris Akunin will enjoy this gently ironic series. Definitely recommended for its inclusive characters, humor, and a thought-provoking ending. [See Prepub Alert, 12/11/17.]
PREMIUM

The Billionaire Raj: A Journey Through India's New Gilded Age

A well-researched, compelling read for those interested in global societies.
PREMIUM

Snare

With its clever plot and brisk, tight pace, this hard-to-put-down Nordic thriller will be a treat for crime fiction fans.
PREMIUM

Protected by the Shadows: An Inspector Irene Huss Investigation

Tursten fans will be excited to read this satisfying tenth and final book in her Swedish procedural series. A rarity for Scandinavian crime fiction, this sleuth has a family who loves her and a happy ending. [See Prepub Alert, 6/12/17.]
PREMIUM

The Devil's Wedding Ring

Though some readers may be put off by the explicit sex scenes and graphically detailed pagan rites, this briskly paced atmospheric mystery, inspired by Nordic landscapes and traditions, will appeal to admirers of Yrsa Sigurdardóttir and Jan van de Wetering.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.