Susan Santa

23 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Other People

The latest page-turner from Tudor (The Hiding Place) contains elements of the supernatural within a thriller, but the true mystery lies in dark secrets kept and the lengths that some will go for justice and revenge. Plot twists and revelations will keep readers guessing to the last page. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
PREMIUM

How the Dead Speak

The 11th in McDermid’s series (Insidious Intent) is chock-full of crime and yet not as compelling as past installments. Regardless, fans and newcomers to the series will enjoy the twists and turns.
PREMIUM

The Girl with the Leica

This novel presents a chance to highlight Gerda’s story, her daring and accomplishments, and might have finally removed her from under Capa’s shadow. Instead, Strega Prize winner Janeczek (Bloody Cow), and translator Goldstein, deliver a work filled with impenetrable prose, scant action, and an unsatisfying portrait of a woman with a brief, if eventful and interesting life.

PREMIUM

Only Ever Her

Whalen (When We Were Worthy) writes about the secrets that cement and destroy small Southern towns. While not quite a nail-biter, this will satisfy those who enjoy watching a community's underbelly exposed.
PREMIUM

The Hiding Place

Fasten your seat belts, for this book takes off in the first chapter and never lets go. Tudor (The Chalk Man) has written what begins as a mystery and ends up as something akin to a Stephen King thriller.
PREMIUM

In a House of Lies

The 22nd Rebus title (after Rather Be the Devil) finds the usual suspects and old friends: Rebus, Clarke, Fox, Cafferty, et al. Newcomers to the series may be drawn in by the plot twists, pithy dialog, and dark underside of Edinburgh, but readers of the previous entries will enjoy a deeper appreciation of the intricacies of the relationships and events.
PREMIUM

Broken Ground

Prolific author McDermid (Out of Bounds) has crafted a tight police procedural with a strong female lead. While this is number five in the series, newcomers are brought up to speed. Fans of Tana French and Ian Rankin will be delighted. [See Prepub Alert, 6/10/18.]
PREMIUM

How To Keep a Secret

Morgan (Moonlight over Manhattan) transitions from contemporary romance to women's fiction with this winner. Her lovingly created characters come to life, the dialog rings true, and readers will fly through the pages and then wish for more.
PREMIUM

A Lady's Guide to Selling Out

Debut author Franson has created a character so insensitive to others and lacking any integrity that when her comeuppance does finally come up, it is virtually impossible to sympathize. Well intentioned but not essential.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month