Susan Belsky

51 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Best American Travel Writing 2019

No matter what their mood or interest, readers can find much to move and delight them in this entertaining collection.

PREMIUM

The Dog Went over the Mountain: Travels with Albie; An American Journey

An entertaining account of a man and his dog traveling along America’s highways
PREMIUM

Before the Ballot: Building Political Support for Library Funding

Essential for librarians, library employees, and board members who don’t want to be left in the dust when it comes to funding.
 
PREMIUM

Traveling with Service Animals: By Air, Road, Rail, and Ship Across North America

A highly recommended resource for anyone who travels with a service animal, as well as for anyone who works in transportation, hospitality, or any business with public accommodations
PREMIUM

Casting into the Light: Tales of a Fishing Life

Although Messineo’s voice is rough around the edges, it adds to the authenticity of her narrative. Readers interested in fishing and ocean ecology as well as women’s memoirs will be drawn to this story.

PREMIUM

Rough Magic: Riding the World's Loneliest Horse Race

An appealing account that will capture the imagination of a wide audience, including young adults. Readers who enjoyed Cheryl Strayed's Wild and James Campbell's Braving It will want to join Prior-Palmer on her once-in-a-lifetime trek.
PREMIUM

A Walking Life: Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time

Readers interested in green living and libraries that support ecology and urban studies programs will want this far-reaching book about how to maintain a sustainable lifestyle.
PREMIUM

Crash Course in Disaster Preparedness

An excellent tool for training and planning sessions for library staff, boards, and government officials.
PREMIUM

The Reference Librarian's Bible: Print and Digital Reference Resources Every Library Should Own

Libraries without access to ARBA or ARBAonline should consider this reasonably priced title. Library and information science students will also find it beneficial.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month