Stephanie Sendaula

197 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story

Like the magazine version of the 1619 Project, this invaluable book sets itself apart by reframing readers’ understanding of U.S. history, past and present.

Grains for Every Season: Rethinking Our Way with Grains

McFadden’s latest is destined to become a go-to cookbook.

Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City

An unforgettable account, both heartrending and heartbreaking, of structural racism and inequality. Like Matthew Desmond’s Evicted, Elliott’s tour de force is destined to become a classic.
PREMIUM

The Undertakers

Glover has written another fast-paced story of luck, fate, and betrayal. Readers will be engrossed by its celestial magic, hidden tunnels leading to unexpected places, and cliffhanger ending.

Black Food: Stories, Art, and Recipes from Across the African Diaspora

Whether read straight through or browsed section by section, this meaningful book brings Black foodways into focus and will leave a lasting impact.
PREMIUM

This Is Ear Hustle: Unflinching Stories of Everyday Prison Life

Even readers unfamiliar with the podcast will be absorbed by Poor and Woods’s storytelling and their ability to draw out intimate conversations on hope and humanity.

Please Don’t Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes: Essays

Robinson has written her best book yet, and her relatable humor will have readers coming back for more.
PREMIUM

Carefree Black Girls: A Celebration of Black Women in Popular Culture

Calling for Black women (in and out of the public eye) to be treated with empathy, Blay’s pivotal work will engage all readers, especially fans of Mikki Kendall’s Hood Feminism.

Unfollow Me: Essays on Complicity

Busby’s compelling writing elevates conversations on gender, race, and sexuality, drawing in readers from the very first page, setting this memoir-in-essays apart. Pass along to readers who enjoyed Shayla Lawson’s This Is Major and Amber Ruffin and Lacey Lamar’s You’ll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?