Russell Michalak

39 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Fatal Ally

Former Moscow correspondent for the BBC and award-winning author Sebastian (Exit Berlin; Saviour’s Gate) delivers a gripping spy thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy, Charles Cumming, and John LeCarré will enjoy the well-developed characters and riveting twists that keep the pages turning.
PREMIUM

Play with Fire

Award-winning author Shaw delivers an excellent fourth installment of the “Breen and Tozer” series (after A Song for the Brokenhearted). Readers of C.J. Box will enjoy the tense, intricate plot. Fans of Tana French’s “Dublin Murder Squad” series will appreciate the atmospheric description of the English countryside.
PREMIUM

The Last Good Guy

Three-time Edgar Award winner and New York Times best-selling Parker delivers another exceptional noir with the third installment of the series (The Room of White Fire, Swift Vengeance). Readers of C.J. Box will enjoy the strong character development, fans of James Patterson will delight in the twists and turns, while T.C. Boyle fans will appreciate the atmospheric California setting. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]
PREMIUM

The Summer of Ellen

Friis, coauthor with Lene Kaaberbøl of the "Nina Borg" mysteries, excels in her second solo novel (after What My Body Remembers). Readers of Nordic noir literature will appreciate the setting, social critique, and the classic whodunit story. Fans of Henning Mankell's "Wallander" series will enjoy the excellent character development with twists and turns throughout. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]

A Spy in Exile

De Shalit (Traitor) is the pseudonym of a former high-ranking member of the Israeli intelligence community. This second novel featuring Ya'ara is a superb international thriller. Readers of Joseph Kanon will love the descriptive setting. Fans of John le Carré and Daniel Silva will appreciate the swift pace and shocking twists and turns.
PREMIUM

The Line That Held Us

Joy, whose debut novel, Where All the Light Tends To Go, was an Edgar Award finalist, delivers a stunning third Southern noir novel (after Weight of This World). Fans of Ron Rash will love the atmospheric Appalachian setting wrapped up in a suspenseful plot. [See Prepub Alert, 2/12/18.]
PREMIUM

Blood Standard

Three-time Shirley Jackson Award-winning horror author Barron (Swift to Chase) delivers a fine first entry in the noir genre. Fans of James Ellroy will appreciate Barron's hard-boiled prose. Readers of John D. MacDonald will enjoy the plot's twists and turns. [See Prepub Alert, 11/13/17.]
PREMIUM

High White Sun

Scott (Far Empty) delivers an impressive noir thriller in his sophomore outing. Fans of Craig Johnson will enjoy the tight-knit plot, while admirers of David Joy's Southern country noir will appreciate the strong and vivid description of West Texas. [See Prepub Alert, 9/25/17.]
PREMIUM

The Fighter

Recipient of the 2014 Mississippi Author Award, Smith (Desperation Road) excels in this dark and violent Southern grit-lit thriller. Fans of James Lee Burke will delight in the strong sense of place in the Deep South, while fans of David Joy will appreciate the protagonist's inner turmoil.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.