Portia Kapraun

43 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Femlandia

A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Naomi Alderman’s The Power, and Kim Liggett’s The Grace Year.

Read-Alikes for 'Apples Never Fall' by Liane Moriarty | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Shoulder Season

Spanning decades and ranging from the Midwest to California, Clancy’s second novel (after The Second House) is an elegiac ode to a place that might feel at once familiar and lost to time. Uneven pacing causes some scenes to fly by too quickly, and the denouement feels like a reading marathon, but fans of J. Ryan Stradal and Jami Attenberg will root anyway for Sherri to come out on top.
PREMIUM

The Great Mistake

Give this entrancing story of an exceptional man to novel-reading fans of Erik Larson and those who enjoy a little mystery with their historical fiction.
PREMIUM

The Other Mother

Dicks (Twenty-One Truths About Love) doesn’t seem concerned with medical accuracy, but it is doubtful that readers will mind too much as they laugh, cry, and cheer their way through this touching coming-of-age tale. For fans of Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Andrew David MacDonald’s When We Were Vikings.
PREMIUM

The Henna Artist

An uplifting tale that highlights the power of family. For fans of Shobha Rao’s Girls Burn Brighter and the novels of Kristin Hannah. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]
PREMIUM

How Quickly She Disappears

This promising, if slightly uneven, debut thriller with a strong sense of place will appeal to fans of Jane Harper’s The Dry, and those who wished Kristin Hannah’s The Great Alone was a psychological thriller. 
[See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]

The Vexations

Horrocks turns what could have been a maudlin retelling into a heartbreakingly beautiful novel about the sacrifices people make for what they hold dear. Readers need not be familiar with composer Erik Satie (1866–1925) to appreciate his story, but many will feel compelled to seek out recordings of his music after reading this book. [See Prepub Alert, 12/3/18.]
PREMIUM

Stick Together

Quirky and engaging characters elevate a somewhat predictable mystery in this humorous novel that is sure to please fans of Jussi Adler-Olsen's "Department Q" stories.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?