Portia Kapraun

36 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Vexations

Horrocks turns what could have been a maudlin retelling into a heartbreakingly beautiful novel about the sacrifices people make for what they hold dear. Readers need not be familiar with composer Erik Satie (1866–1925) to appreciate his story, but many will feel compelled to seek out recordings of his music after reading this book. [See Prepub Alert, 12/3/18.]
PREMIUM

Stick Together

Quirky and engaging characters elevate a somewhat predictable mystery in this humorous novel that is sure to please fans of Jussi Adler-Olsen's "Department Q" stories.
PREMIUM

Finding Dorothy

Fans of the Oz novels or film will be enchanted. This is a great fit for readers of Christine Baker Kline and Lisa Wingate, and will surely be a popular choice for book clubs. [See Prepub Alert, 8/20/18.]
PREMIUM

Bright Ruin

Fans of the series will be clamoring for this thrilling conclusion to James's intricately plotted trilogy. [See Prepub Alert, 4/30/18.]
PREMIUM

The Darkness

This heart-pounding tale will appeal to fans of Camilla Läckberg and those looking for a darker, more modern Agatha Christie-type mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 4/23/18.]
PREMIUM

The Darkness

This heart-pounding tale will appeal to fans of Camilla Läckberg and those looking for a darker, more modern Agatha Christie-type mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 4/23/18.]
PREMIUM

One of Us

Dilouie (Suffer the Children) delivers a fresh take on the well-worn story of oppression and rebellion. Unfortunately, one-dimensional characters and clichéd dialog clog the story, leaving little room for building empathy. Still, the author's fans will want this.
PREMIUM

Suicide Club

Fans of modern speculative fiction and readers who love stories that warn us to be careful what we wish for will be enthralled by Heng's highly imaginative debut, which deftly asks, "What does it really mean to be alive?" [See Prepub Alert, 1/8/18.]

The Tangled Lands

Bacigalupi (The Windup Girl) and Buckell (HALO: Envoy) have delivered an intriguing world and characters, but the collection lacks resolution and cohesion. The loosely related tales show promise but, without one overarching story line to tie them together, feel like companion stories to a novel not yet written.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month