Parks, Brad

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Interference

Parks, better known for character-driven mysteries, ventures into Michael Crichton and Blake Crouch territory with a procedural thriller with an sf edge and a ton of heart that leads to an explosive (and emotional) finale. Even though Parks’s staccato writing style, where every sentence is a potential paragraph, takes some getting used to, this should satisfy a wide swath of readers.

The Last Act

This novel packs on the suspenseful surprises and plot reversals that made Parks a mainstay on the best-seller lists, but it's not just gritty and dark. With a lighter approach, Parks focuses on enduring characters and sharp wordplay, perfect for those who like their thrillers witty rather than bloody. Even if they aren't fans of Broadway musicals, readers will want to seek out this one. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]
PREMIUM

Closer Than You Know

Another winning tale of domestic suspense from the Shamus- and Nero Award-winning author Parks, who knows how to get readers to empathize emotionally with his characters while amping up the tension and suspense from the first page.
PREMIUM

Say Nothing

Parks's (The Fraud) previous novels have been good, but this is his best to date. Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don't stay silent, tell everyone.
PREMIUM

The Player: A Carter Ross Mystery

Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing (after The Good Cop).
PREMIUM

The Good Cop

Parks's award-winning series is essential reading. This fourth entry (after The Girl Next Door) is a fine blend of suspense, bumbling-with-a-purpose detecting, and a chatty, humorous tone that the author makes seem effortless. [See Prepub Alert, 10/08/12.]
PREMIUM

The Girl Next Door

Award-winning Parks's third Carter Ross mystery (Faces of the Gone; Eyes of the Innocent) has all the elements for a fun escape read
PREMIUM

Eyes of the Innocent

Zany characters, witty dialog, and a plot that races to a bang-up finish are guaranteed to have readers cheering for the good guys. Parks's sequel to his acclaimed debut, Faces of the Gone, is as good if not better. Think Lisa Scottoline meets Richard Yancey. [Library marketing.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?