Nicole Steeves

22 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Watt O’Hugh and the Innocent Dead: Being the Third Part of the Strange and Astounding Memoirs of Watt O’Hugh the Third

Genre mashup devotees should get some good laughs and thrills from this Western/adventure/sf/fantasy blend. Fans of Doctor Who may adapt easily to the timey-wimeyness, and readers of Richard Kadrey’s “Sandman Slim” series who long for more atypical excursions to hell will enjoy as well.
PREMIUM

The Dark Above

Fans of Justin Cronin’s The Passage, TV’s Stranger Things, and all versions of Stephen King’s IT will want to sit under summertime stars to binge this quick read. Any teen or adult fan of sf thrillers will enjoy this story, although they may want to read the first installment before jumping in.

Donna Has Left the Building

Literary fiction readers, chick lit fans, suburbanites, mothers, daughters, addicts (recovering and otherwise), immigrants, people with dreams achieved and abandoned—all kinds of readers will love this book. A must-have for public libraries of every size. [See Prepub Alert, 12/17/18; "Editors' Spring Picks," LJ 2/19]
PREMIUM

Miraculum

Night Circus fans will inevitably find this a cousin of their favorite, but readers of Katharine Dunn's Geek Love or Neil Gaiman's American Gods are more likely to enjoy it.
PREMIUM

The Best Bad Things

Fans of Lyndsay Faye's "Timothy Wilde" series can go ahead and place their holds. Readers looking for sexy, dangerous action unencumbered by apologetics will love this book. Carrasco is an author to watch. [See Prepub Alert, 5/14/18.]
PREMIUM

Treason of Hawks

Any library with the earlier entries must complete this fun, sexy, poignant series. Confidently recommended to both new and seasoned adult fantasy readers alike.
PREMIUM

When the Men Were Gone

Readers looking for stories about decent people doing their best or a good cry won't do much better than this heartrending read, which is sure to be a fall favorite of book clubs anywhere near a football stadium. [See Prepub Alert, 4/9/18.]
PREMIUM

Below

Teen, tween, and adult fans of futuristic YA adventure such as Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games will devour this title, and parents whose children are reluctant readers will want to put this into their hands.
PREMIUM

We Are Unprepared

Any book group will have lots to discuss here, for good or for ill, and readers who identify with new adult or hover on the precipice to start reading adult literary fiction would be served well.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.