Nickson, Chris

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

To the Dark

The third “Simon Westow” mystery, following The House Girl, is for readers who appreciate realistic historical atmosphere and details of the sometimes grim life in a 19th-century factory town. Fans of Jeri Westerson’s “Crispin Guest” series will appreciate the mystery and ambiance.

The Hanging Psalm

Nickson ("Richard Nottingham" and "Tom Harper" series) once again travels back in time in a new Leeds-set mystery that is likely to draw in readers of Andrea Penrose, Charles Finch, and Anne Perry.

The Iron Water: A Tom Harper Mystery

In 1893 Leeds, England, DI Tom Harper is representing the police at a demonstration of a powerful new naval weapon, the torpedo, when the resulting explosion in the lake brings up a body; meanwhile, river dredging uncovers a woman's leg...

Skin Like Silver

Harper is a good copper; he wants justice, but sometimes he is forced to seek it in slightly unethical ways. As an industrial hub, Leeds drew immigrants from all parts of the British Empire, making for a riveting historical setting. Readers of Iain Pears and Will Thomas will enjoy this Victorian series.

Two Bronze Pennies

Nickson's second historical to feature detective inspector Harper (after Gods of Gold) is a thoroughly enjoyable procedural. Victorian-era Leeds comes alive as an unusual setting against which the sympathetically drawn characters perform their roles. Recommend for anyone who loves Ripper Street on BBC America or Anne Perry's Victorian crime novels.

Fair and Tender Ladies: A Richard Nottingham Novel

As always, Nickson vividly evokes the culture and rhythms of 18th-century England in his historical series, now at number six (after At the Dying of the Year). Violent yet layered with compassion, his tales draw the reader into his characters' world, demanding attention.

At the Dying of the Year: A Richard Nottingham Mystery

Grateful to be alive (after Come the Fear), Leeds's honorable constable returns for his fifth case in an outstanding British procedural series...

Come the Fear: A Richard Nottingham Mystery

Nickson's fourth title (after The Constant Lovers) in his superb 18th century-set series lives up to expectations. Clearly written so that the titles can be read out of order, this historical police procedural ends with a cliffhanger, guaranteeing your patrons will demand number five,

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing