Melanie Kindrachuk

41 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Tender Thing

While the writing is a little dry at times, the theme is sure to appeal to fans of musical theater. Readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s City of Girls or Fiona Davis’s The Chelsea Girls will enjoy, too. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]
PREMIUM

In Five Years

The story has a strong New York setting and sympathetic characters. Emotional hooks alongside moments of humor and self-awareness will remind readers of Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You or Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Maybe in Another Life. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]
PREMIUM

The Wives

This domestic suspense is recommended for fans of Louise Jensen’s The Surrogate or Carol Goodman’s The Other Mother. The language is edgy, but readers eager for a new thriller release will most likely snap this up.

Ever Faithful

With a touch of suspense and plenty of romance, this should have wide appeal; the inspirational element is very subtle and doesn’t overwhelm the story. Recommended for readers who appreciate works by Jane Kirkpatrick or Tracie Peterson.

PREMIUM

In the Night of Memory

Told with vibrancy by an Ojibwe professor and poet, this own voices story of Ojibwe girls in a situation only too common for indigenous families shouldn't be missed. Recommended for readers seeking contemporary takes on indigenous life and those who enjoy family sagas containing hope and beauty alongside sadness.
PREMIUM

The Quintland Sisters

While the Dionne story is fascinating, the fictional elements are underdeveloped, with historical reportage taking the lead. For a deeper understanding of the true story, readers would be better off with one of the classic biographies or one of the Dionne sisters' memoirs. [See Prepub Alert, 10/1/18.]
PREMIUM

The Sisters Hemingway

Combining sibling rivalry, romantic story lines for each sister, a strong cast of supporting characters, and a realistic, colorful Ozarks setting, this well-paced story will appeal to those who enjoy family dramas. Its warm, engaging tone and happy ending for all will appeal to readers of Susan Wiggs or Mary Alice Monroe.
PREMIUM

The Surrogate

This twisty, soapy novel is full of a multitude of plot devices. While the trope of a wife who is not what she seems is becoming a little overused, there is still enough drama and excitement to satisfy readers of books similar to Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl or Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.—Melanie Kindrachuk, Stratford P.L., Ont.
PREMIUM

Wolves of Eden

This is a strong entry in the modern Western genre, encompassing both historical accuracy and social commentary, wrapped in a well-told story. [See Prepub Alert, 5/21/18.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month