Melanie C. Duncan

107 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Blackberry Beach: A Hope Harbor Novel

Hannon (Starfish Pier) returns to Hope Harbor with an unsurprising romance that reads well as a stand-alone but will satisfy series fans with glimpses of characters from previous books. A couple of retirees’ romantic interest in each other livens up the plot, but this book is recommended mainly for libraries that already own the series or where Hannon is popular.
PREMIUM

The Way It Should Be

Nelson (More Than We Remember) dives into the emotional and physical toll drugs and violence take on the victims and the survivors. Through Zara, Eve, and Tiff, readers are drawn into complicated family dynamics as the characters are forced to confront questions with no easy answers. Recommended for libraries where Karen Kingsbury and Robin Lee Hatcher are popular.
PREMIUM

All the Colors of Night

Krentz’s second “Fogg Lake” entry (after The Vanishing) offers her typical romantic suspense heavily dosed with heightened mental abilities and can read as a stand-alone, although characters from the first book make appearances. Fans will enjoy the Easter eggs sprinkled throughout referencing the Jones brothers from Krentz’s popular “Arcane Society” series. Recommended for where the author is popular.

How To Catch a Queen

Cole (An Extraordinary Union) launches the “Runaway Royals” series with a bang, introducing a sexy but shy king, a determined and caring queen, and a host of characters who leap off the page into the reader’s imagination. Fans of the “Reluctant Royals” series will adore cameos by some of their favorites, but this is a solid starting point for new readers.

Emerald Blaze

The phenomenal Andrews follows up Sapphire Flame with another satisfying entry in this popular series. Action, romance, intrigue, and tons of danger leave readers wanting more of the Baylors, more of the Primes. A required purchase for all romance collections.
PREMIUM

Boyfriend Material

Hall (How To Bang a Billionaire) delivers a comedic romance with a not-very-sympathetic hero who tries to be better, a sexy barrister, and a gaggle of oddball secondary characters. Fans of Casey McQuiston’s Red, White & Royal Blue may enjoy.

Set the Stars Alight

Dykes (Whose Waves These Are) weaves together two narratives separated by centuries, showing how tiny actions have repercussions that ring through time. Joy and grief blend equally as Lucy and Dashel rediscover each other and the riddle set in motion by a beloved watchmaker years earlier to show he is always with them. With its appeal for inspirational and secular readers, this is highly recommended for all public libraries.

PREMIUM

Someone Like You

Kingsbury’s “Baxter” series is a perennial favorite and a required purchase for inspirational collections. The plot is predictable, but it raises interesting questions about science, fertility, and the legal status of frozen embryos. With a Baxter TV series in the works, libraries should purchase according to demand.
PREMIUM

Starbreaker

Bouchet amps up the action and shock factor in this sequel to Nightchaser, while further rounding out the characters, relationships, and plans for this universe. Libraries owning the first book definitely need this one, and others may want to go ahead and get both.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?