Melanie C. Duncan

103 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Boyfriend Material

Hall (How To Bang a Billionaire) delivers a comedic romance with a not-very-sympathetic hero who tries to be better, a sexy barrister, and a gaggle of oddball secondary characters. Fans of Casey McQuiston’s Red, White & Royal Blue may enjoy.

Set the Stars Alight

Dykes (Whose Waves These Are) weaves together two narratives separated by centuries, showing how tiny actions have repercussions that ring through time. Joy and grief blend equally as Lucy and Dashel rediscover each other and the riddle set in motion by a beloved watchmaker years earlier to show he is always with them. With its appeal for inspirational and secular readers, this is highly recommended for all public libraries.

PREMIUM

Someone Like You

Kingsbury’s “Baxter” series is a perennial favorite and a required purchase for inspirational collections. The plot is predictable, but it raises interesting questions about science, fertility, and the legal status of frozen embryos. With a Baxter TV series in the works, libraries should purchase according to demand.
PREMIUM

Automatic Reload

Steinmetz (The Sol Majestic) delivers a “rom-com with explosions” featuring a hero with PTSD and control issues, and a killer heroine with a panic disorder. The action is nonstop, with issues of mental illness, identity, and humanity woven subtly throughout. Mat breaks the fourth wall in his random musings, rather like a cyborg Deadpool. Recommended for libraries looking for a deliciously over-the-top adventure.
PREMIUM

Starbreaker

Bouchet amps up the action and shock factor in this sequel to Nightchaser, while further rounding out the characters, relationships, and plans for this universe. Libraries owning the first book definitely need this one, and others may want to go ahead and get both.

Girl Gone Viral

Rai follows up The Right Swipe with a sweet and spicy romance that delves into some deep issues of mental health for both main characters (severe anxiety and PTSD), as well as the effects of social media on people’s lives. Essential for public libraries. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]
PREMIUM

The Land Beneath Us

Sundin completes the “Sunrise at Normandy” trilogy (The Sea Before Us; The Sky Above Us) with the tale of the final Paxton brother, digging deep into why bad things to happen to good people against the backdrop of World War II and the biblical parable of the prodigal son and forgiveness. Libraries with the first two books will want to purchase.

Best Romance 2019

PREMIUM

American Love Story

Herrera returns to her “Dreamers” series with a sexy romance that explores stereotypes and racial injustice. While this stands alone, characters from American Dreamer and American Fairytale make appearances, so libraries owning these first two books in the series will want to purchase. Recommended for all libraries.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month