Megan M. McArdle

651 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Dahlia Black

The documentary approach causes some emotional distance, and the sheer amount of footnotes slows reader engagement, but there is plenty of narrative tension to keep the pages turning. Recommended for fans of Sylvain Neuvel’s Sleeping Giants or Max Brooks’s World War Z.
PREMIUM

Creation Machine

Bannister cleverly brings it all home in this engaging, propulsive space opera debut that veers lightly into cyberpunk, as a simulated intelligence becomes key to the power struggles for the artifact. Fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Famous Men Who Never Lived

The plight of refugees gets a sf twist in this enjoyable debut from award-winning short story writer Chess. While the side plots could have been tightened, those looking for character-driven, science-light sf should give this a try.
PREMIUM

The Gone World

Describing much more than this simple setup would rob the reader of the trippy experience of navigating the time-travel intricacies of this nail-biting speculative thriller from Sweterlitsch (Tomorrow and Tomorrow). [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]
PREMIUM

Olympus Bound

The exciting conclusion to Brodsky's trilogy, which began with The Immortals, has all the lovingly researched details about the Greek pantheon that fans have come to expect. [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]

Debuter Maaren Joins Cogman, Hunter, Okorafor, Yolen, & Many More | Sf/Fantasy Reviews

PREMIUM

Glass Town

With a vivid London setting and a tantalizing dose of cinematic history (including Alfred Hitchcock's lost directorial debut), this dark fantasy should appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman.
PREMIUM

Gluttony Bay

The penultimate novella of the "Sin du Jour" series (after Greedy Pigs) continues Wallace's imaginative romp through New York City restaurants, supernatural diners, and all-out devilish fun.
PREMIUM

The Lost Plot

A light, fun series for fans of Gail Carriger and Jodi Taylor.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.