McGuire, Seanan

21 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Unkindest Tide

The 13th outing for Daye is just as fresh and exciting as the first. McGuire has built a complex world, where seemingly loose ends are woven tightly into the series. Highly recommended.

That Ain't Witchcraft

With delightful worldbuilding and enjoyable characters, this follow-up to Tricks for Free is another solid entry in a great urban fantasy series.

In An Absent Dream

McGuire's fourth in the "Wayward Children" series takes the concepts of fairness and common sense and twists them through the doorways of a portal fantasy with an amazing landscape and characters. Lyrical prose cuts with an honesty of losing childhood innocence that eases the heartache that sometimes accompanies coming of age.

Night and Silence

McGuire's latest tale of the changeling knight (after The Brightest Fell) weaves myriad storylines, paving a course to the forthcoming The Unkindest Tide. Urban fantasy enthusiasts should find this a must-read series, brimming with masterly characters, setting, and plots.

Beneath the Sugar Sky

This third stand-alone volume in McGuire's highly popular novella series (after Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones) pulls bits from the other titles, but no more than is needed as a bridge among the books. Elegant prose strengthens this inviting portal fantasy.

Deadlands: Boneyard

In depicting a mysterious and unsettled land, McGuire ("Toby Daye" series) brings her witty, dynamic prose style to this third novel based on the Weird West role-playing game Deadlands, following Jonathan Maberry's Deadlands: Ghost Walkers and Jeffrey Mariotte's Deadlands: Thunder Moon Rising.

The Brightest Fell

Life seems to be finally settling down for October "Toby" Daye—until her mother, Amandine, demands her help in finding Toby's long-missing sister August...

Down Among the Sticks and Bones

This stand-alone "prequel" to Every Heart a Doorway focuses on two intriguing characters from that book. Beautifully crafted and smartly written, this fairy-tale novella is everything that speculative fiction readers look for: fantastical worlds, diverse characters, and prose that hits home with its emotional truths.

Magic for Nothing: An Incryptid Novel

The sixth series outing (after Chaos Choreography) returns fans to the supernatural world of monsters, monster hunters, and Price family issues. McGuire continues to keep the high energy and excitement in her frenetic action-filled stories, with loads of humor and intriguing characters.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.