McCafferty, Keith

6 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Death in Eden

Despite the title's shortcomings, this may be enjoyed by some fans of mysteries that take place in natural settings. ["Fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson will relish this page-turner": LJ Xpress Reviews 5/25/18 review of the Viking hc.]—I. Pour-El, Des Moines Area Technical Coll., Boone, IA
PREMIUM

A Death in Eden: A Sean Stranahan Mystery

Fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson will relish this page-turner. [See Prepub Alert, 1/8/18.]
PREMIUM

Cold Hearted River: A Sean Stranahan Mystery

The brutally tragic deaths of a couple stranded in a spring snowstorm bring to light a fly wallet that may be tied to Ernest Hemingway's treasured fishing gear and his long-lost trunk containing unpublished work...
PREMIUM

Dead Man's Fancy: A Sean Stranahan Mystery

Set in Montana's Madison River valley and Yellowstone National Park, McCafferty's third series entry (after The Royal Wulff Murders and The Gray Ghost Murders) lassos up a range of topics—wolf reintroduction, wilderness living and survival, animal rights—that are uncovered thorough his protagonists' meticulous sleuthing. Holding clues to the puzzle are numerous colorful, quirky characters who traverse long geographical distances. Plenty of fly-fishing details and outdoor adventure will satisfy readers who also enjoy the Western mysteries of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson.
PREMIUM

The Royal Wulff

McCafferty's superb outdoor writing (not surprising for an editor at Field & Stream magazine) feels like an academic mystery thanks to a complex research topic that sometimes dilutes the mystery plot. Recommend this debut to lovers of environmentally themed mysteries by such authors as C.J. Box, but don't forget Victoria Houston's fly-fishing Wisconsin sheriff ("Loon Lake Fishing Mysteries"), if readers want to continue along that vein.
PREMIUM

Mr. Churchill's Secretary

Watch out for the smart girl who can crack codes with her slide rule. The appeal of real-life characters populating the story works well in this solid historical cozy debut. MacNeal squeezes in plenty of World War II facts but never slows the pace. I like pairing this with Maureen Jennings's Season of Darkness and Sarah R. Shaber's Louise's War.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month