McBride, James

4 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Deacon King Kong

Much is unpacked by the time the book reaches its lovely and heartfelt climax, as McBride shows what can happen when people set aside their differences. Highly recommended, especially for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Spike Lee. [See Prepub Alert, 9/9/19.]
PREMIUM

Five-Carat Soul

Realism with a touch of magical realism for readers who enjoy page-turners that don't happen to be thrillers.
PREMIUM

Kill 'Em and Leave: Searching for the Real James Brown

This recommended work would be a wonderful companion to a full-blown Brown biography, such as Nelson George's James Brown Reader, along with the other 12 titles "on deck" that McBride mentions. [See Prepub Alert, 10/19/15.]
PREMIUM

The Good Lord Bird

With its colorful characters caught in tragic situations, McBride's (The Color of Water; Song Yet Sung; Miracle at St. Anna) faux memoir, narrated by Henry, presents a larger-than-life slice of an icon of American history with the author's own particular twist. [See Prepub Alert, 2/25/13.]

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month