Mara Bandy Fass

19 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Last Train to Key West

Cleeton should add to her growing fan base with this title, which is well suited for book clubs and for historical fiction fans of authors such as Renée Rosen and Susan Meissner.
PREMIUM

The First Actress: A Novel of Sarah Bernhardt

Parts of the plot feel a little rushed and more time might have been spent exploring some of Bernhardt’s choices, but overall Gortner has created a compelling portrait that will certainly whet readers’ appetites to learn more about this charismatic figure. Recommended for fans of Melanie Benjamin and Allison Pataki.
PREMIUM

The Land Beyond the Sea

Recommended for Penman’s many fans, and readers seeking out fascinating lesser-known figures not often covered in historical fiction.
PREMIUM

Red Letter Days

Recommended for fans of Fiona Davis and Renee Rosen and stories of young women fighting for professional success and personal happiness in a big-city setting.
PREMIUM

The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr

Readers misled by the title to expect a less disturbing love story will certainly be disappointed.
PREMIUM

The Last Collection: A Novel of Elsa Schiaparelli and Coco Chanel

Fans of Renée Rosen and Melanie Benjamin should enjoy this latest novel from Mackin (A Lady of Good Family). The designers' obsession with besting each other makes for fun, gossipy reading, while the tensions of prewar Paris and Lily's attempts to ease her grief through her art lend the narrative satisfying emotional depth. Recommended for fans of well-researched historical fiction with strong female characters.
PREMIUM

Lost Roses

Overall, this novel builds to an emotionally satisfying conclusion, and readers who loved Lilac Girls will likely be keen to learn more about the Ferridays. Also suggest to fans of recent Russian historical fiction hits such as Amor Towles's A Gentleman in Moscow and C.W. Gortner's The Romanov Empress. [See Prepub Alert, 10/29/18; an editor's pick, LJ 2/19.]
PREMIUM

Park Avenue Summer

Recommended for fans of Fiona Davis and Melanie Benjamin.
PREMIUM

Historical Fiction for Today | Collection Development: 20th Century in Fiction

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month