Lucy Roehrig

32 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

An Orc on the Wild Side

Holt has taken over the satirical fantasy novel from writers such as Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, with a dose of Kurt Vonnegut tossed in. For readers who do not take their fantasy stories too seriously, or appreciate them a bit silly, this is a gem.
PREMIUM

Fearless Females

Breen’s straightforward style makes this ideal for middle school readers and beyond. Also a great historical supplement for anybody interested in the global rights of women told in a graphic novel format.

The Arab of the Future. Vol. 4: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1987–1992

The difficulty of growing up in a culture you feel no commonality with is powerful in this volume and will definitely resonate with some readers. Others will be touched by the humor amid the drama. A must for most collections, especially those with the previous books in the series.
PREMIUM

The Daughters of Temperance Hobbs

Fans of Physick will find this sequel equally engaging, with answers to outstanding questions and some familiar characters. However, it's not necessary to have read the previous book or even be interested in witchcraft to appreciate the history of early America that scholar Howe brings to life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]
PREMIUM

The City of Folding Faces

This is a sometimes challenging but ultimately fascinating return to classic cyberpunk that William Gibson aficionados will love.

Exhalation

Any sf reader can dive into these stories and find something exciting. Especially recommended for fans of Greg Egan, Ken Liu, and Netflix's Black Mirror. [See Prepub Alert, 11/19/18]
PREMIUM

The Books of Earthsea:

With solid YA crossover appeal but highly enjoyable for all ages, this is especially recommended for admirers of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and J.K. Rowling.
PREMIUM

A Cathedral of Myth and Bone: Stories

These brilliant stories are for readers who enjoy mythology and fantasy with a bit of depth, such as the retellings of Madeline Miller.—Lucy Roehrig, Ann Arbor Dist. Lib., MI
PREMIUM

The Oyster Thief

Highly recommended for readers who enjoy love stories set in fantastical worlds, with YA crossover appeal.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.