Linda Sappenfield

36 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Good Riddance

A treat for Lipman followers, this romantic comedy/caper will divert anyone seeking clever but warmhearted fiction (e.g., Cathleen Schine), as well as fans of classic screwball comedies. Ideal for public libraries. ["Funny, warm, sharp, smart, and full of love for family, no matter how flawed": LJ 12/18 review of the Houghton Harcourt hc.]

Daisy Jones & the Six

Music fans will be captivated, as will readers of character-driven fiction, not to mention the audience acknowledged in Daisy's Grammy speech—"all of you out there hung up on somebody or something"—that is, most listeners. Enthusiastically recommended. ["For music lovers, romance fans, and anyone who wants to feel invincible with youth, intoxicated by music, and a powerful longing for days gone by": LJ 3/19 review of the Random hc.]
PREMIUM

When We Were Young

Fans of Christian fiction espousing traditional values will appreciate both the artfulness of Kingsbury's nod to A Christmas Carol and her advocacy for nurturing faith and marriage. Plan to purchase this latest entry in the popular "Baxter Family" series, which also stands alone, for Kingsbury's legions of followers.
PREMIUM

Jane Doe

Enthusiastically recommended, especially for fans of psychological suspense and admirers of steely protagonists such as Taylor Stevens's Vanessa Michael Munroe.
PREMIUM

Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York City's Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case That Captivated a Nation

A must-read for fans of Erik Larson's Devil in the White City, this would also intrigue listeners favoring contemporary true crime accounts or fictional stories of early 1900s female investigators by Amy Stewart, Jacqueline Winspear, Kerry Greenwood, and others. ["A spellbinding true crime history that reads like a novel. It will be enjoyed by aficionados of Victorian crime novels as well as true crime fans": LJ 12/16 starred review of the St. Martin's hc.]
PREMIUM

The Death of Mrs. Westaway

Superbly crafted, Ware's twisty tale will captivate her followers, fans of Eve Chase's Black Rabbit Hall, and seekers of character-driven mysteries. Enthusiastically recommended. ["Ware's fourth novel is her best yet, with steadily increasing tension, a complicated…mystery, and a sharp, sympathetic heroine who's up to the challenge of solving it": LJ Xpress Reviews 4/20/18 starred review of the Scout: Gallery hc.]

The Death of Mrs. Westaway

Superbly crafted, Ware’s twisty tale will captivate her followers, fans of Eve Chase’s Black Rabbit Hall, and seekers of character-driven mysteries. Enthusiastically recommended. [“Ware’s fourth novel is her best yet, with steadily increasing tension, a complicated...mystery, and a sharp, sympathetic heroine who’s up to the challenge of solving it”: LJ Xpress Reviews 4/20/18 starred review of the Scout: Gallery hc.]
PREMIUM

Bury What We Cannot Take

The story's hurried conclusion and uneven characterization will be forgiven by historical fiction fans absorbed by harrowing vignettes of Mao's regime, book groups keen to discuss the chilling implications of the story's title, and general readers seeking an intriguing page-turner. Recommended for public libraries. ["A quick and enjoyable read that should appeal to many audiences": LJ 2/1/18 review of the Little A hc.]
PREMIUM

Coldwater

Emotionally wrenching and oblique as it explores Christian themes, this title won't be a comfortable fit for those seeking traditional inspirational fare but is definitely recommended for book groups, fans of Frank Peretti, and more adventurous CF readers. ["Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will enjoy this twisted tale of the destructive and sinister power of evil": LJ 2/1/18 starred review of the Revell hc.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.