Lesa Holstine

316 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Iced in Paradise

Featuring family loyalties, surfing, and a distinct lifestyle, this character-driven, atmospheric mystery may appeal to new adults and those readers interested in Hawaiian culture.

Ice Cold Heart

The tenth Monkeewrench novel is as intense and fast paced as its predecessor, The Guilty Dead, and includes the best elements for crime fiction readers: an intricate plot weaving multiple story lines. Though the backstory is disturbing, fans of the compelling series will appreciate the focus on Roadrunner and a glimpse of his past.
PREMIUM

Remembering the Dead

With a mystery involving a poet’s chair and Irish Travelers, the award-winning author of Murder on the Hour focuses on the culture of Wales in her latest cozy. The charming characters will appeal to Jane K. Cleland’s readers.
PREMIUM

A Legacy of Murder

The serious tone of the mystery is alleviated by the humor of an ongoing feud among local pubs in this second “Kate Hamilton” mystery (A Dream of Death). Readers will appreciate Kate’s growth as a character in this atmospheric story. Fans of Jane K. Cleland’s books featuring another antiques dealer involved with a police officer will want to try this series.
PREMIUM

Murder at Whitby Abbey

Although set centuries apart, Clark’s tenth medieval mystery (following Murder at Meaux) and Cora Harrison’s 1920s-set “Reverend Mother” series share similarly rich details of religious and political life. Readers who favor the political tensions and historical aspects of Ellis Peters’s “Brother Cadfael” mysteries will further appreciate this leisurely paced story.

Nothing Ventured

Following the success of the historical “Clifton Chronicles,” Archer launches a series set in the 1980s. As he says, it’s the story of a detective, not a detective story. Archer’s numerous fans will appreciate another dramatic, character-driven mystery set in the world of art, police work, and court trials. [See Prepub Alert, 3/17/19.]

Molten Mud Murder

There’s a strong sense of place, history, and Maori culture in this compelling debut novel. The mystery combines forensic investigation with the rich details of a fascinating culture. Fans of Kathy Reichs’s mysteries will appreciate the forensics, while Jane Harper’s readers will enjoy the rich culture.

The Good Cop

Strongly recommended for all readers interested in this era or in a free press. Fans of Rebecca Cantrell’s “Hannah Vogel” series will recognize the bleak atmosphere.
PREMIUM

Death of a Gigolo

There’s a solid mystery buried in the over-the-top humor in this sequel to Death of a Neighborhood Scrooge. Fans of Mary Daheim and Tamar Myers will appreciate the comedy.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.