Lesa Holstine

382 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Ghost Ups Her Game

The amusing sequel to the first book in the series, Ghost on the Case, is a warmhearted traditional mystery that will appeal to fans of Nancy Atherton’s “Aunt Dimity” books. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/20.]

Marah Chase and the Fountain of Youth

While this second book in the series has as much fast-paced action as its predecessor, Marah Chase and the Conqueror’s Tomb, there’s more depth to the story. The action-packed narrative touches on issues of cultural appropriation, identity, history, and environmental change, which featuring a variety of LGBTQ characters. Fans of Indiana Jones or the Marvel action series will appreciate this cinematic adventure.

Shadows in Time

The fifth “Kendra Donovan” novel is an atmospheric and character-driven mystery. The time travel, intrigue, romance, and returning characters will appeal to Diana Gabaldon’s fans
PREMIUM

Once You Go This Far

This latest P.I. novel is an intricately plotted tale by the Shamus Award–winning author of What You Want To See. The mystery with a flawed protagonist who delves into a case involving controversial subjects such as spousal abuse and a cultish church will appeal to readers of Sara Paretsky and Tracy Clark. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/20.]

The Lost Girls of Devon

A woman’s strange disappearance brings together four strong women who struggle with their relationships, despite their need for one another. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will appreciate the emphasis on nature and these women’s unique gifts in this latest by the author of When We Believed in Mermaids.
PREMIUM

A Twist in the Tail

The author of the “Mystic Notch Cat” cozies introduces another group of feline detectives who guide the investigation for humans. Readers crazy for cat cozies in the style of Clea Simon’s “Witch Cats of Cambridge” series might appreciate this quirky mystery.
PREMIUM

Find Me

For thriller fans who appreciate intricate and unconventional plots, with shocking twists.
PREMIUM

Exit Strategy

As Sara Driscoll, Danna is the coauthor of the “FBI K-9” mysteries and the “Abbott and Lowell” forensic mysteries. She kicks off her first solo effort, the “NYPD Negotiators” series, with a compelling, dramatic story while using the protagonist’s family background as motivation. Readers who love the TV show Blue Bloods, with its family of cops, will relish this launch.
PREMIUM

Of Mutts and Men

Fans of this character-driven series return because of Chet’s narration and his adoration of Bernie. Despite the murders, this is a leisurely paced, feel-good book about a dog and his beloved owner, portrayed with all their flaws and insecurities. Chet’s narration adds humor to a long-running series with a strong sense of place. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/20.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month