Kubica, Mary

4 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Other Mrs

Kubica (Every Last Lie) writes a mesmerizing tale with an unreliable narrator that draws attention to a less-understood mental health condition, but the story is wrapped up a bit too neatly. What is satisfying and most effective is the oppressive sense of unease that permeates this intense psychological suspense drama. For fans of A.J. Finn and Gillian Flynn.[See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]
PREMIUM

Don't You Cry

Fans of Kubica (The Good Girl; Pretty Baby) will enjoy her third stand-alone book, as will anyone who delights in the recent wave of terrific missing-persons novels. [See Prepub Alert, 2/21/16.]
PREMIUM

Pretty Baby

Those who appreciate character-driven explorations of human emotion will enjoy Kubica's sophomore effort (after The Good Girl). The major characters are each deep in the midst of their own psychological crises based on past events. There is no notable action, but the story will stir readers just the same. [See Prepub Alert, 3/2/15.]
PREMIUM

The Good Girl

Similar in tone to William Landay's acclaimed Defending Jacob, this excellent debut is compulsively readable and highly recommended for anyone who loves a mystery, a suspense tale, or a psychological puzzle. This could also be recommended for those who enjoy suspense, but don't care for graphic depictions of violence or sexual intimacy: these elements are mentioned, but not detailed. [Previewed in Kristi Chadwick's Mystery Spotlight feature, "Pushing Boundaries," LJ 4/15/14.—Ed.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month