Kelly, A

275 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Paw of the Jungle

While part of a series, this cozy can be read as a stand-alone and will be appreciated by animal lovers. Recommended for readers of Spencer Quinn’s “Chet and Bernie” books.
PREMIUM

The Highlander’s Christmas Bride

An abundance of adventure and an unusual premise quickly draw readers in to this Scotland-set Regency, making Kelly’s latest “Clan Kendrick” novel (The Highlander Who Protected Me) a perfect Christmas read, complete with family drama that could stand as a story all its own.
PREMIUM

Aquaman. Vol. 1: Unspoken Water

DeConnick is in no rush to offer any explanations for Arthur’s new circumstances, which results in occasionally frustrating early chapters, but the story picks up in the second half and heads to a thrilling climax that upends Arthur’s history and promises intriguing escapades to come
PREMIUM

A Night’s Tail

From the opening scene in this follow-up to The Cats Come Back, there are too many characters to keep straight. This cozy has the requisite number of likable characters, but the large cast means that it’s really directed at fans of librarian Kathleen and her magical cats that disappear and walk through walls.
PREMIUM

God and the Brain

Those familiar with the epistemological works of Alvin Plantinga or Nicholas Walterstorff will find Clark’s use of cognitive science a useful extension to the idea of proper function. His willingness to hold open the possibility that theism is potentially irrational is refreshing. Anyone willing to question the warrant of beliefs on a serious, though not necessarily technical level, will enjoy what Clark has to offer.

The Overdue Life of Amy Byler

Librarians and book lovers will fall for Amyand. Harms (The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane) writes a great light read full of tears, laughter, and charming, relatable characters.
PREMIUM

Lost Roses

Overall, this novel builds to an emotionally satisfying conclusion, and readers who loved Lilac Girls will likely be keen to learn more about the Ferridays. Also suggest to fans of recent Russian historical fiction hits such as Amor Towles's A Gentleman in Moscow and C.W. Gortner's The Romanov Empress. [See Prepub Alert, 10/29/18; an editor's pick, LJ 2/19.]

Space Is the Place | Collection Development: Afrofuturism

PREMIUM

Undiscovered Country: A Novel Inspired by the Lives of Eleanor Roosevelt and Lorena Hickok

Reporter Lorena Hickok never expects her 1932 assignment to interview the First Lady to turn into a passionate love affair...

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.