Julie Kane

61 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

An Unexpected Peril

While series fans will certainly enjoy the newest installment for Veronica and Stoker, this reads well as a stand-alone and will lure readers to Raybourn’s backlist. A rollicking adventure appropriate for mountaineers and mystery-hunters alike.

The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh

Treading lightly on beloved Austen ground, Greeley’s storytelling is intricate, masterly, and delightfully imaginative. Highly recommended for Austen fans as well as readers of period fiction.
PREMIUM

The Nature of Fragile Things

Vividly rendered in the chaos and mass destruction of the historic earthquake, Meissner’s latest (The Last Year of the War; As Bright as Heaven) is a testament to the strength and solidarity of women in crisis.

Big Girl, Small Town

With echoes of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine crossed with the 1990s-set British sitcom Derry Girls, this debut is recommended for fans of Ottessa Moshfegh, Emma Donoghue, and Sally Rooney.
PREMIUM

Murder at Kingscote

In this delightful addition to the series, which would serve as a good introduction to newcomers, Maxwell’s focus on class and gender division is sharp and accomplished. Come for the late 19th-century historical detail; stay for the intrigue.

Grown Ups

Focusing in depth on different members of the Casey family, Keyes’s writing is nuanced and delicate. She maintains humor while handling tough topics. Readers will feel part of the family and at home with the Caseys. Thoroughly absorbing and hard to let go, this novel is Keyes at her best..
PREMIUM

The Last Blue

A rich historical portrait of the region, Morley’s (Above) love story is also for fans of photography and history buffs looking for novels set in the WPA era.

PREMIUM

Summer Darlings

Lifestyle journalist Foster’s first novel aims to be a solid beach read and mostly succeeds, though the story could have benefited from greater character development.

House on Fire

This thriller is not only topical but beautifully driven by the intricacies of personal agendas, both obvious and hidden. Easily read as a stand-alone as well as part of the series, this is sure to captivate a new audience and bring them to the Joseph Finder backlist. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?