Julie Ciccarelli

15 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Best American Mystery Stories 2020

Whether readers enjoy snacking on bite-sized twisty mysteries or are looking for a new author to follow, this anthology delivers.

The Ninja’s Blade

Lily and the secondary characters are rich and complicated, and details about martial arts and Chinese culture add depth to the story. While it isn’t necessary to have read the previous book in the series to enjoy this one, readers won’t understand the extent of Lily’s emotional conflict without that context. This series continues to impress and should find a wide, appreciative audience.
PREMIUM

The Body in the Garden

Fans of historical mysteries and intelligent, strong women sleuths such as Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily, Darcie Wilde’s Rosalind Thorne, or Andrea Penrose’s Charlotte Sloane will want to add this series opener to their TBR pile.
PREMIUM

Saint X

Readers who enjoy a mystery with emotional depth will find this a compelling and impressive debut. [See Prepub Alert, 10/22/19.]
PREMIUM

Thunder Bay

Imbued with the stark beauty of Scottish island life, this atmospheric mystery pulls us into an exploration of human frailty, family loyalty, and the destructive power of secrets. For readers of Denise Mina or anyone seeking a relatable protagonist and a well-told story.
PREMIUM

Revolver Road

Daugherty has created a complex, likable heroine whom readers will root for, fully fleshed-out secondary characters, and a compelling plot. Fans of fictional newshounds created by Laura Lippman, Hank Phillippi Ryan, and Edna Buchanan will enjoy this series. [See Prepub Alert, 8/19/19.]

The Ninja Daughter

Readers who enjoy an action-packed adventure that doesn’t neglect character development and speaks truth about the human condition will welcome this quirky, passionate, and endearingly relatable protagonist.

Your House Will Pay

Cha unflinchingly and compassionately examines issues of race, family, generational violence, and the transformative power of forgiveness in this unforgettable novel. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]

Your House Will Pay

Cha unflinchingly and compassionately examines issues of race, family, generational violence, and the transformative power of forgiveness in this unforgettable novel. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?