Joy Gunn

55 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Better Liar

Debut author Jones has created a taut psychological suspense with surprising developments and a shocking, jaw-dropping ending. Sure to be popular with fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn.
PREMIUM

Never Too Soon

The second title in Christy’s “Anaya’s World” series (after Anytime Soon) has a solid, relatable, character-driven story of the emotional dynamics within family and friends.
PREMIUM

The Dead Girl in 2A

Best-selling author Wilson (Mister Tender’s Girl) delivers a solid stand-alone psychological thriller with a clever premise that brings to light the devastation of memory-altering drugs in psychological warfare research.
PREMIUM

All the Flowers in Paris

Fans of Beatriz Williams will enjoy the historical aspects of Jio’s thoughtful, expressive, and poignant story of love, forgiveness, and strength in the face of tragedy. [See Prepub Alert, 2/18/19.]

PREMIUM

The Lemon Sisters

Shalvis’s third “Wildstone” novel (Rainy Day Friends; Lost and Found Sisters) captures the emotional ups and downs of daily life through her humorous, true-to-life characters. Readers of Kristan Higgins and Susan Mallery will enjoy. [See Prepub Alert, 12/17/18.]
PREMIUM

The Night Tiger

Choo (The Ghost Bride) presents complex characters and multilayered stories in a vivid setting that coalesce into a richly evocative and mesmerizing tale in which myths and folklore intertwine in daily life. For fans of Kate Mosse or Isabel Allende. [See Prepub Alert, 8/27/18.]
PREMIUM

The Black Market

Best-selling author Swinson (Dead on Arrival) has produced a decent, fast-paced story. The downward spiral in which the main character is enmeshed is compelling reading, though the characters seem a little flat and the ending is quite abrupt. Swinson's fans or those who like works by Nikki Turner will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

In Dog We Trust

Next in the "Black Dog Bay" series (after Once upon a Wine and Put a Ring on It), Kendrick offers a lighthearted, sweet story filled with entertaining characters of both the two-legged and four-legged kind. Fans of Kristan Higgins and dog lovers are in for a wagging good time.—Joy Gunn, Paseo Verde Lib., Henderson, NV
PREMIUM

The Clockmaker's Daughter

For fans of intricate, gothic, atmospheric novels reminiscent of Sarah Waters or Diane Setterfield. [See Prepub Alert, 4/9/18.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month