Joni Gheen

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Last Widow

Another strong novel by Slaughter, with complex characters to root for and an antagonist you hope gets what he deserves. With a well-written, intriguing plot and an edge-of-the-seat ending, this is sure to keep readers up late into the night. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]
PREMIUM

Careful What You Wish For

With smooth dialog and a title that is a good representation of the story line, Ephron offers a great “murder swap” mystery reminiscent of the 1951 Hitchcock classic Strangers on a Train. Recommended for those who love puzzling, unpredictable mysteries with a little lesson in professional organizing on the side. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]

Call Me Evie

With a story line that hooks readers immediately and twists and turns galore, this impressive debut is highly recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn and those who enjoy well-written psychological suspense tales. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]
PREMIUM

Blood Orange

Even though the main character in this cleverly written story is not always the most likable, making bad decision after bad decision, readers will still want her to persevere. Highly recommended for fans of Paula Hawkins and B.A. Paris and those who love dark and disturbing suspense novels. [See Prepub Alert, 8/10/18.]
PREMIUM

The Collector

Highly recommended for fans of Karin Slaughter and those who love well-written psychological thrillers.—Joni Gheen, McConnelsville, OH
PREMIUM

Pulse

This well-researched novel set in 1970s Boston is a real page-turner. With twists that sometimes seem to come from another world, it's sure to keep readers interested. [See Prepub Alert, 4/23/18.]
PREMIUM

Pieces of Her

With an intrigue- and suspense-filled plot, Slaughter's well-crafted, tense, and exhilarating story will keep readers on the edge of their seats. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/18.]
PREMIUM

Necessity

With the current political upheaval, Buffa's newest novel hits home in more ways than one. The author draws on his own experience as a criminal defense attorney to render realistic courtroom proceedings. Highly recommended for lovers of legal and political thrillers.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.