Jones, Darynda

7 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Bad Day for Sunshine

Though readers may find it difficult to keep track of the minor characters, this series opener provides plenty of action. Recommended for fans of Linda Castillo and J.A. Jance.
PREMIUM

Fifth Grave Past the Light

Recommended for readers who would enjoy a supernatural and snarky Stephanie Plum. [See the Q&A between author Jones and narrator King, p. 44.]
PREMIUM

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet

Recommended for those who have enjoyed the previous series entries and those looking for other series à la "Sookie Stackhouse" or "Stephanie Plum."
PREMIUM

Third Grave Dead Ahead

Charley Davidson, a private eye of the paranormal persuasion—she doubles as a Grim Reaper—is straining to solve a missing-persons case and keep a motorcycle gang in line...
PREMIUM

First Grave on the Right

This series starter—Jones's first work of fiction—is funny, sarcastic, and erotic and includes a darned good detective yarn...
PREMIUM

Second Grave on the Left

The Grim Reaper angle makes this an obvious choice for urban fantasy/paranormal fiction readers, but the blend of humor, heat, rapid-fire dialog, and suspense brings to mind a paranormal Stephanie Plum. Charley's second adventure ends on a cliff-hanger, so there's certain to be more to come. [See Prepub Alert, 2/21/11.]—Nanette Donohue, Champaign P.L., IL
PREMIUM

First Grave on the Right

The author's sarcastic sense of humor is at first annoying but grows on the reader as the story progresses. Jones skillfully establishes the novel's setting and keeps up the pace with plenty of action. And let's be honest—the sex is pretty hot, too. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and other authors of paranormal romance will love this series debut. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 9/15/10; library marketing; the manuscript of this novel earned the author the 2009 Golden Heart for Best Paranormal Romance.—Ed.]

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month