Jones, Dan

263 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Crusaders: The Epic History of the Wars for the Holy Lands

An entertaining and informative look at a potent historical phenomenon whose echoes are still being felt today. [See Prepub Alert, 4/15/19.]

How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir

An unforgettable memoir that pulls you in and doesn’t let go until the very last page. [An editor’s pick, see “Fall Fireworks.”]

PREMIUM

Wichita Lineman: Searching in the Sun for the World’s Greatest Unfinished Song

This affectionate memorial to Campbell and rather hagiographic take on Webb’s talent might have worked better as a long article for Rolling Stone or The New Yorker, as it tends to repetitiveness and often veers into self-serving territory. Sadly, the whole does not equal the sum of its (many excellent) parts.

Catwoman: Vol. 1: Copycats

As conceived by Jones (Lady Killer) and Fernando Blanco (Midnight and Apollo), Catwoman is sultry and morose; still reeling from her failed relationship with Batman, she’s more human than cat. Insight into her past helps flesh her character out and explains the motivation behind some of her actions. This arc is timely considering recent interest in female superheroes’ stories, and would be a good fit for any adult collection.

A Modern Cook's Year: More than 250 Vibrant Vegetarian Recipes To See You Through the Seasons

A chef shares a personal journey throughout the year in this beautifully illustrated and welcome addition on vegetarian fare.

Becoming Dr. Seuss: Theodor Geisel and the Making of an American Imagination

This attractive biography should be on the bedside reading table of thousands of Dr. Seuss lovers, and deservedly so.
PREMIUM

They Were Her Property: White Women as Slave Owners in the American South

Strongly recommended for readers interested in this period of U.S. history, or who wish to expand their understanding to include a more honest view of the Southern slave system.
PREMIUM

Life Is a Marathon: A Memoir of Love and Endurance

Readers interested in inspirational reading, running, and personal experiences with loved ones' mental illness will find this valuable and informative.
PREMIUM

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Jennifer Chiaverini will be captivated by this story for its atmospheric, historically rich drama, and forbidden romance.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.