Jon Jeffryes

6 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Other Passenger

Sure to please readers looking for thrillers in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Aimee Molloy; a single-sitting page-turner with character and thematic depth.
PREMIUM

Breakout

The combination of vengeance quest and disaster epic make for a compelling and adrenaline-filled thriller. TV and game writer Herron’s debut stands apart with its strong characterization and assured pacing, though at times the violence does skew toward the gratuitous.
PREMIUM

Last Seen

The book’s gritty and violent realism reads like the San Francisco cousin to James Lee Burke’s “Dave Robicheaux” series, but with plot convolutions that feel like melodrama. (Cassie’s story line moves quickly from unlikely into the realm of unbelievable.) The lead character, O’Higgins, never develops beyond his collection of personal issues, leaving the book without a captivating core. While Harrington (The Good Physician) is an author to watch, this ambitious police procedural is ultimately unsuccessful.

Goodnight Beautiful

Along with a rip-roaring suspense plot, Molloy adds depth with critiques of gender conventions that causes readers to investigate the assumptions they bring to the text. She breathes new life into the unreliable narrator thriller genre in a book everyone will be talking about.
PREMIUM

The Kingdom

Nesbø ‘s slow-burn thriller is guaranteed to be in high demand. As the story unfolds, it builds in dread and depravity. The small-town atmosphere resembles a Peyton Place as envisioned in an unlikely collaboration between Raymond Chandler and Henrik Ibsen. The complex characters and twisting plot will keep readers turning the pages and eager to discuss. [See Prepub Alert, 3/4/20.]
PREMIUM

The Girl Beneath the Sea

Edgar-nominated Mayne (“Jessica Blackwood” series; Dark Pattern) introduces a winning new series with a complicated female protagonist that combines police procedural with adventure story and mixes the styles of Lee Child and Clive Cussler.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?