Jessica Hilburn

9 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Pure Narco: One Man’s True Story of 25 Years Inside the Cartels

Readers who enjoyed Jordan Belfort’s The Wolf of Wall Street may be interested in the debauchery of this book, but its greater appeal will be limited.

Perversion of Justice: The Jeffrey Epstein Story

While the book would benefit from more specific notes about interviews with the people involved, Brown tells a gripping, horrifying tale, and few are spared her critique. A must for public library collections, and especially noteworthy for readers of Ronan Farrow’s Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy To Protect Predators.
PREMIUM

“Prisons Make Us Safer”: And 20 Other Myths about Mass Incarceration

While this book may be useful for academic libraries, public libraries are better served by other titles, such as Michelle Alexander’s The New Jim Crow.
PREMIUM

The Case of the Murderous Dr. Cream: The Hunt for a Victorian Era Serial Killer

Jobb’s compelling account of Cream’s reign of terror will appeal to readers interested in Jack the Ripper or Peter Sutcliffe, the Yorkshire Ripper.
PREMIUM

Giovanni’s Ring: My Life Inside the Real Sopranos

Fans of the Netflix docuseries Fear City, the films Donnie Brasco and The Irishman, or Selwyn Raab’s Five Families will enjoy this insider’s update on of one of the original Italian American crime families.
PREMIUM

A Descending Spiral: Exposing the Death Penalty in 12 Essays

Readers interested in the death penalty and injustice in the U.S. criminal justice system, as well as those who enjoyed Bryan Stevenson’s Just Mercy, will appreciate this title.
PREMIUM

Lying for Money: How Legendary Frauds Reveal the Workings of the World

General readers will be interested in many of the examples of fraud, but those without a background in finance might struggle with jargon or the lack of central narrative.
PREMIUM

Tiger Girl and the Candy Kid: America’s Original Gangster Couple

Those interested in tales of white-collar crime and 20th-century history will be pleased.
PREMIUM

Why the Innocent Plead Guilty and the Guilty Go Free: And Other Paradoxes of Our Broken Legal System

With some weaknesses in the writing yet with important insights into the future of the justice system, this title is best suited for academic and law libraries and public libraries with a devoted criminal justice or legal readership rather than a general audience.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?