Jennifer Funk

47 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Missing Person

Lotz’s (The White Road) clever novel includes a judicious use of formats such as messaging transcripts and web comments to move along the plot while providing insights into the Missing-Linc.com crew. Suggested for fans of authors such as Ruth Ware, Jennifer McMahon, Gillian Flynn, and Nic Joseph.
PREMIUM

Ruby & Roland

Sullivan (Goodnight, Mr. Wodehouse) creates a story worthy of comparison to Edith Wharton’s Ethan Frome. Recommended for historical and women’s fiction fans
PREMIUM

The Sum of All Shadows

Van Lustbader (The Testament) concludes his “Testament” series with this fast-paced supernatural thriller that is equal parts Indiana Jones, Robert Langdon, and Old Testament. Recommended for fans of Dan Brown and Clive Cussler.

Snakeskins

Major (You Don’t Belong Here; Blighters) takes a unique concept and creates a compelling plot with engaging, multidimensional characters. Recommended for sf readers and mystery lovers who are willing to expand their horizons.
PREMIUM

The Body Lies

Longbourn author Baker's foray into suspense contains some beautifully written passages, but it is mostly told from the perspective of the protagonist, and at times it's hard to grasp the young woman's motivations or emotions. Regardless, this book is recommended for readers who enjoy psychological thrillers that focus on women protagonists such as Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, or Paula Hawkins's Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]
PREMIUM

Beautiful Bad

Recommended for readers who enjoy suspense novels or thrillers, as well as fans of Paula Hawkins, Ruth Ware, and Liane Moriarty.
PREMIUM

A Murder Unmentioned

Gentill's sixth installment in the "Rowland Sinclair" series (after Gentlemen Formerly Dressed) is best categorized as a cozy or historical mystery, with a touch of detective fiction. Recommended for readers who enjoy similar authors such as Kerry Greenwood and Agatha Christie.

The Paragon Hotel

A treat for those who enjoyed Faye's other novels, as well as fans of historical crime/thrillers.
PREMIUM

The Night in Question

One of the most well-done aspects of this new novel by Joseph (Boy, 9, Missing; The Last Day of Emily Lindsey) is the format. The flashback and flash-forward method doesn't work for some novels, but the skewed time line here makes the story even more suspenseful. Alternating points of view keep readers on their toes as well, sneaking looks into the motivations of the different characters. For readers who enjoy psychological and crime thriller authors such as Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and B.A. Paris.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.