Jennifer Funk

51 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Art of Dying

Recommended for readers who enjoy historical or medical mysteries, especially those set in Victorian England.

Give the Devil His Due

Australian author Gentill’s seventh installment featuring Rowland Sinclair (after A Murder Unmentioned) is as fun and consuming as her previous novels. The writing is superb, providing fascinating historical context as well as depth in her characters. Highly recommended for fans of the series and historical crime mysteries.
PREMIUM

The Missing American

This promising series debut from the acclaimed Quartey (“Darko Dawson” mysteries) introduces the formidable Emma, and most important, the culture and politics of Ghana. Recommended for readers of mystery, African American and African fiction, and international crime/mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
PREMIUM

Missing Person

Lotz’s (The White Road) clever novel includes a judicious use of formats such as messaging transcripts and web comments to move along the plot while providing insights into the Missing-Linc.com crew. Suggested for fans of authors such as Ruth Ware, Jennifer McMahon, Gillian Flynn, and Nic Joseph.
PREMIUM

Ruby & Roland

Sullivan (Goodnight, Mr. Wodehouse) creates a story worthy of comparison to Edith Wharton’s Ethan Frome. Recommended for historical and women’s fiction fans
PREMIUM

The Sum of All Shadows

Van Lustbader (The Testament) concludes his “Testament” series with this fast-paced supernatural thriller that is equal parts Indiana Jones, Robert Langdon, and Old Testament. Recommended for fans of Dan Brown and Clive Cussler.

Snakeskins

Major (You Don’t Belong Here; Blighters) takes a unique concept and creates a compelling plot with engaging, multidimensional characters. Recommended for sf readers and mystery lovers who are willing to expand their horizons.
PREMIUM

The Body Lies

Longbourn author Baker's foray into suspense contains some beautifully written passages, but it is mostly told from the perspective of the protagonist, and at times it's hard to grasp the young woman's motivations or emotions. Regardless, this book is recommended for readers who enjoy psychological thrillers that focus on women protagonists such as Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, or Paula Hawkins's Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]
PREMIUM

Old Baggage

Recommended for readers of historical and literary fiction, especially those interested in first-wave feminism.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month