Jeff Ayers

62 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Island of Thieves

Hamilton has written his best “Van Shaw” book to date with this slow-burn tale that takes his main character in unexpected directions. Van is torn between wondering whom he can trust and keeping his known allies safe. High stakes, a genuinely complex plot, compelling characters, and excellent writing make this another winner from Hamilton. Fans of Daniel Silva and Gregg Hurwitz should add Van Shaw to their list of go-to characters.

Down Range

Moore has written a tense and irresistible thriller that fans of C. J. Box and the military action novels of Brad Taylor will savor. The chaos mixes well with a stellar panorama of Texas. Readers will happily look forward to the next installment in what looks to be a series featuring Garrett Kohl and his family’s ranch life.

PREMIUM

Steel Fear

The combo of a military thriller and a serial killer narrative is genius, and the story sings with compelling authenticity. Readers of either genre will find much to savor in this page-turning novel. Webb and Mann dive into the world of the aircraft carrier--an enormous city on the sea that’s a character in itself. Hopefully, this is only the start of a series featuring the enigmatic Navy SEAL Finn.

Falling

Newman keeps up an extreme pace from the first page—a near-impossible task, considering that the hero is locked in a cockpit, unable to take action himself. This novel is like the films Die Hard and Speed on steroids, creating one of the year’s best thrillers.

Sons of Valor

This book is a must-read for fans of covert-ops thrillers, and the authors are looking like the next Preston and Child.
PREMIUM

The Bounty

This is a terrific installment in an engaging series, previously cowritten with Peter Evanovich and Lee Goldberg. Fans of Janet Evanovich will not be disappointed; her writing blends perfectly with the award-winning mastery of Hamilton (“Alex McKnight” thrillers). The globetrotting only adds to the enjoyment of what is arguably even better than her “Stephanie Plum” books. Mission: Impossible meets National Treasure in this winner that one hopes will be the first of many more adventures and more collaboration with Hamilton.
PREMIUM

Fast Ice

The pace never slows, and the villains are extra nasty in this entry that delivers what readers expect when they see Cussler’s name on the cover. Cussler, who died in 2020, and frequent cowriter Brown convey marine biology’s complexities in a way that makes it believable and understandable. Grab a comfy chair and plan to read all night.
PREMIUM

The Request

Bell nails the suburban niche in this absorbing work that fans of Harlan Coben will thoroughly enjoy. [See Prepub Alert, 11/25/19.]

Coauthors, Colleagues, and Librarians Remember Clive Cussler

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?