Jeff Ayers

53 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Mother Knows Best

Peikoff alternates the story between Abby and the events from years earlier while maintaining the suspense. She also can make complex scientific procedures comprehensible for even the nonscientist. Medical thriller fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook will want to check this out.
PREMIUM

The Whisper Man

Fans of Thomas Harris or Kevin O’Brien will enjoy this dive with a new voice in suspense. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]

Missing Daughter

Well-developed characters and an intense pace add to this gripping novel. This latest from a gifted storyteller should not be missing from your reading pile.
PREMIUM

Freefall

Hamdy rethinks the standard serial killer thriller by exploring violence's shattering impact on victims and survivors, in this case his three flawed protagonists. The pace and writing have a cinematic flair, defining this as a true page-turner. Reading the previous title is not necessary, but it does help readers to understand the full scope of this trilogy.
PREMIUM

Gale Force

Clive Cussler's early novels meet The Poseidon Adventure in this mix of maritime details with crime fiction elements. While a forced romance distracts from the intense narrative, the story's driving force, McKenna Rhodes, makes this a worthwhile entry in the world of nautical fiction. Future stories involving our protagonist will be more than welcome. [See Prepub Alert, 11/21/17.]
PREMIUM

Reset

Andrews ("Tier One" series") has written a baffling and intriguing science thriller that is part Tom Clancy with a dash of Michael Crichton. Readers will want to keep turning the pages not only for the wonderfully drawn characters but also to uncover the truth behind the object with the potential to destroy the family dynamic. The ending is both unexpected and perfect.

Q&A: Brad Parks, Winner of the Shamus, Nero, and Lefty Awards

PREMIUM

Skyjack: A Kidnap-and-Ransom Thriller

Howe, executive director of ThrillerFest, is a master storyteller, and even though this is her second novel, it demonstrates the talent of someone who has been crafting thrillers for decades. This works on several levels and will fuel interest in our heroine's further exploits. [See Prepub Alert, 10/22/18.]
PREMIUM

Closer Than You Know

Another winning tale of domestic suspense from the Shamus- and Nero Award-winning author Parks, who knows how to get readers to empathize emotionally with his characters while amping up the tension and suspense from the first page.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.