Jason, Dan

432 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Stranger at the Door

Pinter’s strong depictions of diverse types of love, respect, and loyalty resonate loudly in this nail-biter novel.
PREMIUM

Fruit Cake: Recipes for the Curious Baker

While Schreiber’s instructions are clear, they are concise; these recipes are technique-heavy, so this may not be the best choice for beginners, but experienced bakers will enjoy the quirky writing style and delicious flavors.

Chicago’s Great Fire: The Destruction and Resurrection of an Iconic American City

Stunningly well-researched, this book fully examines a pivotal moment in Chicago’s history. Readers of Smith’s other Chicago-based books will find this fascinating. Fans of Erik Larson, American history, and the triumph of the human spirit will also greatly enjoy..

Be Water, My Friend: The Teachings of Bruce Lee

An essential book for fans of Lee and those looking for find purpose in life. Highly recommended for all readers.
PREMIUM

The Cancer Code: A Revolutionary New Understanding of a Medical Mystery

As Fung’s previous books, The Obesity Code and The Diabetes Code, have been popular with a variety of patrons, this recent exploration of an important subject has the same potential.
PREMIUM

Vampires of Portlandia

Those who enjoy the “Twilight” books or TV series “Grimm” may find this entertaining. Portland enthusiasts will also appreciate the references.
PREMIUM

A Dance with Fate

Marillier’s (“Blackthorn and Grim” series) latest novel in the “Warrior Bards” series (after The Harp of Kings), set in a fantasy world inspired by mythic Ireland, is a brisk and engaging read with vivid characters and a satisfying conclusion that makes this work as a standalone. Recommended for fans of Katharine Kerr’s “Deverry” books or Patrick Rothfuss’s “Kingkiller Chronicles” series.
PREMIUM

Twilight of the Gods: War in the Western Pacific, 1944–1945

Fans of Toll’s previous volumes will enjoy this book. World War II experts may find this work redundant, since it uses previously published materials. However, casual enthusiasts will appreciate as it compiles those works thoroughly.
PREMIUM

Saving Seeds: A Home Gardener’s Guide to Preserving Plant Biodiversity

Useful for the beginning seed saver, but experienced gardeners will be looking for a broader overview of techniques.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?