Jason, Dan

428 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Maverick: A Biography of Thomas Sowell

Based on interviews and ideas replete in Sowell’s innumerable books, this biography is seasoned with selections from the economist’s sardonic quips. While many will disagree with his proposals, few should disregard his impact.

Press Reset

This standout book will appeal to readers of Kotaku, Polygon, and IGN, as well as viewers of NoClip’s YouTube documentaries. Beyond gamers, this well-researched account will also interest labor advocates.

The Science of Middle-earth: A New Understanding of Tolkien and His World

Any fan, casual or academic, of Tolkien’s work will find this book entertaining and informative. Highly recommended.

Correction: This review has been edited to add the translator credit.

Never Far Away

Fans of the author’s previous works will be on the edge of their seats as they follow his characters’ attempts to survive vicious assassins. As he often does, Koryta (If She Wakes) provides strong character development, believable dialogue, and a fast-paced narrative. Keen observers will notice a brief sighting of two brothers (and evil murderers) who were introduced in Koryta’s Those Who Wish Me Dead.

The Problem of Alzheimer’s: How Science, Culture, and Politics Turned a Rare Disease Into a Crisis and What We Can Do about It

As science and medicine continue to study Alzheimer’s, Karlawish suggests, advances in technology, assisted living arrangements, and other lifestyle changes can be used to help people live well with the disease. A must-read on an important subject.

Bad Mother

A short five-issue story that is a must-read for mature readers. Fans of the common woman defying odds to save a loved one will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Breaker

Fans of Petrie’s previous “Ash” novels and Lee Child’s “Jack Reacher” series will fly through this exciting story and wait eagerly for the next installment.

Xi’an Famous Foods: The Cuisine of Western China, from New York’s Favorite Noodle Shop

While challenging for beginning cooks, this enjoyable and readable offering features clear instructions and inspiring recipes that are well within the reach of the home kitchen. Wang’s DIY ethos makes the hard work fun.

Kill Shot: A Shadow Industry, a Deadly Disease

Informative and engrossing, this book is a page-turner about a deadly outbreak and a reckless compounding pharmacy. Recommended for fans of true-life medical thrillers.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?