Jason, Dan

426 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Dance with Fate

Marillier’s (“Blackthorn and Grim” series) latest novel in the “Warrior Bards” series (after The Harp of Kings), set in a fantasy world inspired by mythic Ireland, is a brisk and engaging read with vivid characters and a satisfying conclusion that makes this work as a standalone. Recommended for fans of Katharine Kerr’s “Deverry” books or Patrick Rothfuss’s “Kingkiller Chronicles” series.
PREMIUM

Saving Seeds: A Home Gardener’s Guide to Preserving Plant Biodiversity

Useful for the beginning seed saver, but experienced gardeners will be looking for a broader overview of techniques.
PREMIUM

Elway: A Relentless Life

With exclusive recollections of Elway’s college football years, Cole delves into the forces that shaped the quarterback and gave him the resiliency to overcome challenges both on and off the field. Recommended for all public library collections, and especially for readers interested in the evolution of sports in the late 20th century.
PREMIUM

Twilight of the Gods: War in the Western Pacific, 1944–1945

Fans of Toll’s previous volumes will enjoy this book. World War II experts may find this work redundant, since it uses previously published materials. However, casual enthusiasts will appreciate as it compiles those works thoroughly.
PREMIUM

The Churchill Complex: The Curse of Being Special, from Winston and FDR to Trump and Brexit

Fans of Buruma’s works, political analysis, and Churchill’s legacy will find much to discover here.

Zconomy: How Gen Z Will Change the Future of Business—and What To Do About It

Vital for all businesses and organizations with any direct contact with Gen Z. Highly recommended for all university libraries supporting business and psychology curriculum.
PREMIUM

So You Had To Build a Time Machine

Offutt (Chasing American Monsters) has created an engaging, quirky, somewhat scientifically believable scenario that both intrigues and infuriates readers, as they attempt to keep up with the constantly shifting plot.
PREMIUM

The Sprawl

Will resonate with Generation X and older Millennials. Recommended for readers interested in popular culture or the history of the American suburbs.
PREMIUM

The Fourth Island

This quiet, magical-realist fairy tale written with a delicate melancholy will attract readers who enjoyed G. Willow Wilson’s The Bird King or Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone’s This Is How You Lose the Time War.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month