Jason Steagall

226 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Science of Middle-earth: A New Understanding of Tolkien and His World

Any fan, casual or academic, of Tolkien’s work will find this book entertaining and informative. Highly recommended.

Correction: This review has been edited to add the translator credit.

Never Far Away

Fans of the author’s previous works will be on the edge of their seats as they follow his characters’ attempts to survive vicious assassins. As he often does, Koryta (If She Wakes) provides strong character development, believable dialogue, and a fast-paced narrative. Keen observers will notice a brief sighting of two brothers (and evil murderers) who were introduced in Koryta’s Those Who Wish Me Dead.

Bad Mother

A short five-issue story that is a must-read for mature readers. Fans of the common woman defying odds to save a loved one will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Breaker

Fans of Petrie’s previous “Ash” novels and Lee Child’s “Jack Reacher” series will fly through this exciting story and wait eagerly for the next installment.

Bag Man: The Wild Crimes, Audacious Cover-Up, and Spectacular Downfall of a Brazen Crook in the White House

Fans of Maddow’s work, especially the related podcast, will thoroughly enjoy this historical allegory. Readers will see the parallel from Agnew's story to current events.

Chicago’s Great Fire: The Destruction and Resurrection of an Iconic American City

Stunningly well-researched, this book fully examines a pivotal moment in Chicago’s history. Readers of Smith’s other Chicago-based books will find this fascinating. Fans of Erik Larson, American history, and the triumph of the human spirit will also greatly enjoy..

Be Water, My Friend: The Teachings of Bruce Lee

An essential book for fans of Lee and those looking for find purpose in life. Highly recommended for all readers.
PREMIUM

Twilight of the Gods: War in the Western Pacific, 1944–1945

Fans of Toll’s previous volumes will enjoy this book. World War II experts may find this work redundant, since it uses previously published materials. However, casual enthusiasts will appreciate as it compiles those works thoroughly.
PREMIUM

The Churchill Complex: The Curse of Being Special, from Winston and FDR to Trump and Brexit

Fans of Buruma’s works, political analysis, and Churchill’s legacy will find much to discover here.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?