Jason Puckett

61 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

D-Day Girls: The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II

A solid read highlighting women’s heroism and resistance during World War II and beyond.

PREMIUM

The Bird King

An emotional and often melancholy historical fantasy that will appeal to fans of Guy Gavriel Kay and Helene Wecker.

A Brightness Long Ago

Readers of Jacqueline Carey's "Kushiel" series or Joe Abercrombie's "Half a King" books should enjoy this dramatic and lush title for its almost, but not quite, historical backdrop. Also a good potential crossover for historical fiction fans since, as is usual for Kay, magic and the supernatural play only the tiniest role. [See Prepub Alert, 11/19/18.]

Your Favorite Band Cannot Save You

This debut novella is a lean, quick read with no fat. The clever, exciting story mixes weird fiction with an engaging and mysterious plot.
PREMIUM

Burning Down the Haus: Punk Rock, Revolution, and the Fall of the Berlin Wall

Readers of punk histories like Legs McNeil's Please Kill Me and John Doe's Under the Big Black Sun will find this title an exciting new perspective of Eastern bloc punk during the Cold War. ["Mohr pens an inspiring history of a punk scene that literally tore down a symbol of division and oppression. An excellent companion to Paul Hockenos's Berlin Calling": LJ 8/18 review of the Alginquin hc.]

Atlanta Libraries, Cosplay, and New Releases at Dragon Con 2018

PREMIUM

Vox

There are a few holes in the worldbuilding logic—women are also kept off the Internet and prevented from reading and writing, without a lot of explanation why or how, aside from passing mentions of computers and books kept locked away—but the narrative is engaging and exciting enough to make these forgivable, especially in the final quarter or so as things come to a head. ["Dalcher reflects current politics in a clarion call against apathy in a page-turning first novel that is perfect for fans of speculative fiction or women's studies and ripe fodder for book club discussions": LJ 8/18 starred review of the Berkley hc.]
PREMIUM

The Grey Bastards

This high-octane, high-testosterone fantasy with dirty-handed but loyal heroes is in the vein of Joe Abercrombie's "First Law" novels, Richard Kadrey's "Sandman Slim" books, and Mark Lawrence's "Broken Empire," but it's less grimdark and more optimistic. ["This gritty debut takes the swords and sorcery trope to new heights; a must for epic fantasy enthusiasts": LJ 6/15/18 starred review of the Crown hc.]
PREMIUM

Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too

Fans of Sun's Twitter account will be here for this, of course; those wanting to try a creative experimental audio adaptation of a more visual work may want to try it out; and readers of Jenny Lawson's radically compassionate memoirs may enjoy its heart-on-its-sleeve humor. ["Even the most cynical reader will have a hard time not being somewhat charmed": LJ 6/1/17 review of the Harper Perennial hc.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.