Jason Puckett

64 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Master of Sorrows

Call’s debut, which kicks off the “Silent Gods” series, takes its time coming to a boil, but by the final act there is plenty of action and conflict. Readers of Mark Lawrence’s “Book of the Ancestor” trilogy or Patrick Rothfuss’s “Kingkiller Chronicle” will appreciate the depiction of a young conflicted hero coming of age in a fantastic school.
PREMIUM

The Blue Eye

Fans of Saladin Ahmed’s Middle Eastern fantasy worlds will appreciate this series for its non-European flavor; those who enjoy Katherine Kurtz’s “Deryni” books will savor its detailed worldbuilding and shifting alliances. [See Prepub Alert, 4/1/19.]
PREMIUM

D-Day Girls: The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II

A solid read highlighting women’s heroism and resistance during World War II and beyond.

PREMIUM

The Bird King

An emotional and often melancholy historical fantasy that will appeal to fans of Guy Gavriel Kay and Helene Wecker.

A Brightness Long Ago

Readers of Jacqueline Carey's "Kushiel" series or Joe Abercrombie's "Half a King" books should enjoy this dramatic and lush title for its almost, but not quite, historical backdrop. Also a good potential crossover for historical fiction fans since, as is usual for Kay, magic and the supernatural play only the tiniest role. [See Prepub Alert, 11/19/18.]
PREMIUM

Fire & Blood

Recommended for the most die-hard of "Ice and Fire" fans craving more depth and backstory for the long-running series.

Your Favorite Band Cannot Save You

This debut novella is a lean, quick read with no fat. The clever, exciting story mixes weird fiction with an engaging and mysterious plot.
PREMIUM

Burning Down the Haus: Punk Rock, Revolution, and the Fall of the Berlin Wall

Readers of punk histories like Legs McNeil's Please Kill Me and John Doe's Under the Big Black Sun will find this title an exciting new perspective of Eastern bloc punk during the Cold War. ["Mohr pens an inspiring history of a punk scene that literally tore down a symbol of division and oppression. An excellent companion to Paul Hockenos's Berlin Calling": LJ 8/18 review of the Alginquin hc.]

Atlanta Libraries, Cosplay, and New Releases at Dragon Con 2018

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month