Jane Jorgenson

128 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Dark Roads

Though dark and foreboding, none of the violence here is gratuitous and the strength and resilience shown by Stevens’s female characters offers leavening moments of heart and hope. For fans of Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.
PREMIUM

Her Perfect Life

Ryan has a sure hand with her page-turning, twisty plotting and complex, multifaceted characters. Readers looking for a fast, thrilling read will love this one.

Palace of the Drowned

Mangan’s excellent sophomore effort (after Tangerine) feels like an homage to Hitchcock and Highsmith both. Frankie feels tensions, both real and imagined, that seep through the story with every word and page. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Mona at Sea

If this all sounds too painful to bear, it is, at times. It’s also caustically funny and revealing, as Mona stumbles into a new version of what her life could be. Fans of Stephanie Danler’s Sweetbitter and Sally Rooney’s novels will want to read this one.

After Francesco

In this highly recommended novel, the pain and rage felt by Kevin and those in the trenches with him is palpable and uncomfortable and real. So too is the love and warmth of spirit they manage to nurture in order to survive.

Our Woman in Moscow

Williams has a sure hand in this deceptively quiet novel, told from the perspective of three different women. She expertly shifts between family drama and a suspenseful espionage plot, and makes every word and note count. Fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff will be looking for this one.
PREMIUM

Libertie

Greenidge’s second novel (after We Love You, Charlie Freeman) is a richly detailed and well-researched work of historical fiction. Centering her narrative on the lives of Black women, she explores issues of racism, colorism and misogyny in lyrical and lovely prose.

Best Pop Fiction of 2020

PREMIUM

Monstre. Vol. 1

The novel alternates time lines between those first days and the days three months later to pulse-pounding effect in this sprawling, violent, gory, and still somewhat hopeful first in what will be an epic series.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?