Jackie Watkins

4 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Monstress: Book One

Liu and Takeda combine steampunk and Lovecraftian-like eldritch horror in a world resembling an early 20th-century matriarchal Asia. Recommended for older teens and adults for mature language and content, and for fans of Tolkien and George R.R. Martin seeking to be immersed in a new fantasy epic.
PREMIUM

A Witch in Time

Despite a slow start, the fifth "Halflife Chronicles" novel (after Dead Easy) quickly turns into a fast-paced read packed with adventure, mystery, and its fair share of sarcasm. Good for teen and adult fans of Jim Butcher and those looking for a new take on sf/fantasy.

Brother Nash

Excellent for readers seeking a fresh, modern take on supernatural fantasy. Recommended for older teens and adults owing to mature language.
PREMIUM

The Book of Ballads and Sagas

Collecting works first published by Vess's Green Man Press, this is an excellent introduction to folk ballads for anyone interested in fairy tales and folklore. Recommended for teens and adults for language and explicit content.

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.