Henrietta Verma

188 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Mother-in-Law

Lucy is hoping for when she overhears her future husband ask his mother, Diana, what she thinks of Lucy. Motherless herself, Lucy had been hoping for a warm relationship with Diana; her hopes are worse than dashed when she instead gains a mother-in-law who is cold and controlling. Known only to the reader is that Diana underwent a trauma that left her emotionally unable to function with others except in the most cautious way and frightened to help her children financially, even though she's rich, lest they become as vulnerable as she was. When Diana is found dead—perhaps by suicide but police mount a murder investigation anyway—the drama ramps up as family members and other characters take their turns under the microscope. Infertility issues play a large role in this Australian story and add to the tiptoeing around and agonizing that Hepworth (The Family Next Door) illustrates so well; the conversations among characters are another high point in the writing. VERDICT This absorbing, cleverly written tale is ideal for fans of Emily Elgar's If You Knew Her. [See Prepub Alert, 10/29/18.]

I'll Be Watching You

A must for mystery shelves.
PREMIUM

The Travel Atlas: The Ultimate Atlas for Globetrotters

A great addition to public library shelves.

All over the Map: A Cartographic Odyssey

A must for cartography collections and a wonderful addition to social science and art shelves.
PREMIUM

The Writer's Map: An Atlas of Imaginary Lands

A must for large literary and cartography collections; a wonderful browsing item as well.
PREMIUM

Europe: A Natural History

An excellent choice for public and academic libraries. [See Prepub Alert, 8/13/18.]
PREMIUM

I, Robot? Technology and Health Today | Collection Development, August 2018

PREMIUM

Library School Students Master Original Research

PREMIUM

13 Days in Ferguson

Christians will enjoy Johnson's reflections on how faith sustains him. Other readers who can overlook the book's shortcomings will enjoy the insider account of that dark time. Worth a library purchase.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.