Hearne, Kevin

7 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Ink & Sigil: From the World of the Iron Druid Chronicles

Delightful! Hearne’s (“Seven Kennings” series) use of Scottish words and spellings (detailed in the foreword) never becomes distracting, but instead adds to the story’s singular flavor. The author includes plenty of shout-outs for fans of the “Iron Druid” series, while introducing an intelligible tale sure to draw in new readers. Great for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Jim Butcher, or Anton Strout.
PREMIUM

Kill the Farm Boy

Dawson (Star Wars: Phasma) and Hearn's ("Iron Druid Chronicles") reimagining of a traditional fairy tale is reminiscent of William Goldman's The Princess Bride and William Steig's Shrek! Irreverent, funny, and full of entertaining wordplay, this will keep readers guessing until the end and eager for the sequel. [See Prepub Alert, 1/29/18.]
PREMIUM

A Plague of Giants

The author of the "Iron Druid Chronicles" launches a new epic fantasy series with this bardic tome. Multiple points of view may cause some confusion as the story progresses, and not all readers will appreciate the volume's hefty length. Still, die-hard series fans curious to learn about Hearne's latest direction will definitely pick this one up.
PREMIUM

Staked

As Hearne unpacks his characters' lives, he delivers an action-packed story filled with multiple pantheons and modern earth issues. Alternating chapters told by Atticus, Granuaile, and Owen keep the plot moving.
PREMIUM

Heir to the Jedi

This latest book set in the Star Wars universe takes place during the years of the original movie trilogy and has attracted some of the brightest talents in speculative fiction including Martha Wells (2013's Razor's Edge) and James S...
PREMIUM

Shattered

This darker series entry might suffer a bit from having too many antagonists as well as abundant points of view. The heart of the book remains Atticus and his slightly goofy telepathic wolfhound, Oberon, and while the mix of Irish, Norse, and even Vedic pantheons is intriguing, it leaves the series scattered.
PREMIUM

Hounded

A snappy narrative voice makes this series opener a savvy urban fantasy adventure that should appeal to fans of Celtic and other mythologies.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month