Harry Charles

56 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Horseplay: My Time Undercover on the Granville Strip

This memoir about undercover police work will appeal to fans of Joseph Pistone’s excellent Donnie Brasco and Michael McGowan’s Ghost.
PREMIUM

Crime Dot Com: From Viruses to Vote Rigging, How Hacking Went Global

For true crime and technology enthusiasts in search of an overview of cybercrime.
PREMIUM

Trial by Fire: A Devastating Tragedy, 100 Lives Lost, and a 15-Year Search for Truth

While James makes incisive points about the media, faulty fire codes, ambitious prosecutors, and sloppy commercial practice, his book is more defense brief than balanced recounting. To get the other side of the story, readers should turn first to John Barylick’s Killer Show, an attorney who represented victims in wrongful death and personal injury suits related to the fire.

I Got a Monster: The Rise and Fall of America’s Most Corrupt Police Squad

Fans of The Wire, The Shield, and Training Day will devour, as will readers of true crime and students of urban affairs and public policy.
PREMIUM

Dopeworld: Adventures in the Global Drug Trade

Equal parts criminal memoir, history lesson, and travelog, this will appeal to readers seeking an immersive and intimate look at the drug trade.

MS-13: The Making of America’s Most Notorious Gang

An outstanding book for true crime readers.

PREMIUM

Love Behind Bars: The True Story of an American Prisoner’s Wife

A poignant work that puts a human face on the injustices of the legal system, best read after completing Billy’s powerful insider account of his mistreatment in prison.
PREMIUM

Nobody’s Child: A Tragedy, a Trial, and a History of the Insanity Defense

As a case study, this well-written book can be a companion to Alisa Roth’s Insane, a comprehensive view of all sides of the issue. It will engage all readers interested in the intersection between crime and mental health.

The Second Chance Club: Hardship and Hope After Prison

An insightful, impactful book for all social and criminal justice readers, and fans of Matthew Desmond’s Evicted and Sudhir Venkatesh’s Gang Leader for a Day.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?