Hampton, Dan

7 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Operation Vengeance: The Astonishing Aerial Ambush That Changed World War II

Although this history is well documented in World War II literature, the accessible storytelling by Hampton will likely be of interest for aficionados of the period.
PREMIUM

On Desperate Ground: The Marines at the Reservoir, the Korean War's Greatest Battle

While other works exist on this famous battle, Sides's highly accessible narrative will be appreciated by general readers as well as history buffs. For fans of Stephen Ambrose and Lynn Vincent. [See Prepub Alert, 4/23/18.]
PREMIUM

American Fix: Inside the Opioid Addiction Crisis—and How To End It

Using both a dispassionate and passionate voice, Hampton's book is recommended as a powerful advocacy tool for anyone seeking change, health, and equality of service for all.
PREMIUM

The Flight: Charles Lindbergh's

An outstanding treatment of some of the most riveting hours of Lindbergh's life. Recommended for aviation historians and enthusiasts, social and intellectual academics, devotees of the 1920s, and all readers.
PREMIUM

The Hunter Killers: The Extraordinary Story of the First Wild Weasels, the Band of Maverick Aviators Who Flew the Most Dangerous Missions of the Vietnam War

Hampton uses a lot of military terminology, some of which might be difficult for the lay reader to understand, but his overall writing style is excellent; in particular, his vivid, fast-paced combat narratives. His latest work will appeal to military history fans or anyone looking for an absorbing read.
PREMIUM

In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette

Recommend this high-adrenaline, impressively thorough history to fans of adventure fiction as well as nonfiction. ["This title will appeal to adventure fans and recreational readers interested in polar exploration, Gilded Age society, or naval history," read the review of the Doubleday hc, LJ 6/15/14; a "More of the Best 2014" pick.]
PREMIUM

In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette

Using De Long's correspondence with his wife as an especially effective tool to bring the explorer to life, this title will appeal to adventure fans and recreational readers interested in polar exploration, Gilded Age society, or naval history. Readers may also consider Leonard F. Guttridge's Icebound: The Jeannette Expedition's Quest for the North Pole.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?