Gregg Winsor

12 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

See That My Grave Is Kept Clean

Readers will be transported by Paul’s easygoing prose as he lingers almost philosophically on the sparse but majestic landscape and the people who choose to make their living there. Sharing qualities with authors like Paul Doiron and C.J. Box, Paul delivers a Western-themed thriller that can easily be read as a stand-alone featuring characters as quiet and as deep as the mountains themselves.
PREMIUM

A Bloody Business

Scholars and hard-core fans of American mafia history will sift through these stories to find the occasional gem; however, the work isn't compelling or satisfying enough for leisure readers who can find a better account of the period elsewhere.
PREMIUM

A Bloody Business

Scholars and hard-core fans of American mafia history will sift through these stories to find the occasional gem; however, the work isn’t compelling or satisfying enough for leisure readers who can find a better account of the period elsewhere.
PREMIUM

Crime (Fiction) Wave | Mystery Genre Spotlight

The Paris Diversion

Pavone gives us a fresh, pulsating, and introspective thriller that delivers on its tourist-heavy Parisian setting and expands and connects territory from his previous novels. An ensemble cast with alternating points of view enhances the wheels-within-wheels plot and are sure to please fans of Daniel Silva or Stella Rimington. Absolutely not to be missed. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]

The Last Act

This novel packs on the suspenseful surprises and plot reversals that made Parks a mainstay on the best-seller lists, but it's not just gritty and dark. With a lighter approach, Parks focuses on enduring characters and sharp wordplay, perfect for those who like their thrillers witty rather than bloody. Even if they aren't fans of Broadway musicals, readers will want to seek out this one. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]

Vigilance

In a world where mass shootings are already a near-daily occurrence, this slim novel might be too grim and genuine for some, but Jackson's fast-paced, blistering look at how a nation's seductive myths about itself can lead to its downfall is an absolute must-read. Perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes, Richard K. Morgan, or the Netflix series Black Mirror.
PREMIUM

Top Dog

Lawyer-turned-author Lapidus writes in a paranoid, introspective style of Scandinavian noir that may not have mainstream appeal but will please fans of James Ellroy or Jo Nesb.ø—Gregg Winsor, Johnson Cty. Lib., Overland Park, KS
PREMIUM

The Contract: A John Q Mystery

Ultimately, this is a solid entry in the series, but for some readers, there might be one suspect and one dead end too many. Still, Gulvin's deliberate pace and dust-choked prose will resonate with fans of Robert B. Parker or James Lee Burke.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.