Gloria Drake

27 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Dear Child

Hausmann’s English-language debut is absorbing and sinister, with a tightening web of psychological intrigue. Tiny clues are steadily inserted into this fast-paced, shivery tale with an unforeseen denouement. Inevitably likened to Emma Donoghue’s Room, also suggest Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes.
PREMIUM

She Gets That from Me

Wells (Still the One) sympathetically and accessibly presents many sides to matters of infertility, grief, and ways families are chosen. This tender story full of warmth and hope is perfect for fans of Sarah Jio.
PREMIUM

Her Final Words

Labuskes (Girls of Glass) offers an intense mystery with an excellent character in Lucy, who methodically uncovers layers of deceit while trusting no one. Some plot developments are too convenient, and a few questions are left unanswered, but there’s a great concluding twist.
PREMIUM

The Wicked Sister

Despite the story’s few flaws, Dionne knocks out a psychological thriller with a low-grade yet ever-present sense of danger. Fans of Paul Doiron and environmental thrillers may like this book. [See Prepub Alert, 1/29/20.]
PREMIUM

The Secrets They Left Behind

While the conclusion is unnecessarily protracted, Redmond (A Cold Day in Hell), herself a retired cold-case homicide detective from Buffalo, demonstrates her experience and delivers a well-crafted, pulsating mystery with a sobering twist. Fans of small-town mysteries will enjoy.

These Women

Pochoda (Wonder Valley) stuns with this disquieting literary thriller rife with descriptive street language and violence. It is complex, intense, and enthralling. Fans of Rachel Kushner’s The Mars Room will experience a similar sense of feeling both captivated and bereft. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/19.]
PREMIUM

The Absolution

Sigurdardóttir creates an intense focus upon and thorough examination of bullying, including issues of isolation, suicide, counseling, and inept prevention in this excellent, gritty thriller that will appeal to series fans and readers of Kimberly McCreight’s Reconstructing Amelia. [See Prepub Alert, 7/21/19.]
PREMIUM

The Other Mrs

Kubica (Every Last Lie) writes a mesmerizing tale with an unreliable narrator that draws attention to a less-understood mental health condition, but the story is wrapped up a bit too neatly. What is satisfying and most effective is the oppressive sense of unease that permeates this intense psychological suspense drama. For fans of A.J. Finn and Gillian Flynn.[See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]
PREMIUM

All About Evie

Lamb (The Man She Married) offers an uproarious yet tender story of belonging and identity. Touching on issues of adoption, post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, and harassment, this is an endearing expression of trust, love, and what it means to be a family.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month