Gay, Roxane

11 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Sacrifice of Darkness

Based on Gay’s (The Banks) short story “We Are the Sacrifice of Darkness,” and adapted into the graphic form by Gay and writer Oliver, this deeply romantic sf/fairy tale hybrid exploring class issues, identity, and survivor’s guilt is brought to life through Kirby’s (Now: The New Anthology of Comics) graceful illustrations.
PREMIUM

Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture

Libraries will want to enforce that silence is not an option by providing this paramount testimony in multiple formats.
PREMIUM

Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture

Taking a straight razor to the heart, preeminent cultural critic Gay collects original and previously published pieces on what it's like for women to live in a world where they must unceasingly negotiate sexual harassment and violence...
PREMIUM

Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body

Gay calls this work "the most difficult writing experience of [her] life"; audiences are likely to find Hunger a difficult—yet rewarding—experience, as well. ["Displays bravery, resilience, and naked honesty from the first to last page": LJ 6/1/17 starred review of the Harper hc.]
PREMIUM

Hunger:A Memoir of (My) Body

Buy plenty of copies of this stunning work because it will be on every end-of-year best list; essential reading after Gay's debut novel, An Untamed State, as it explains the emotions behind that brutal story. [See Prepub Alert, 1/4/17.]
PREMIUM

Difficult Women

New York Times best-selling writer Gay presents a collection of short stories, her second after 2011's brilliant Ayiti...
PREMIUM

Difficult Women

Refreshing yet intricate, in the vein of Clarence Major's Chicago Heat and Other Stories, this work will appeal to lovers of literary and feminist fiction. [See Prepub Alert, 6/25/16.]
PREMIUM

An Untamed State

Literary fiction fans will appreciate this book's frank depiction of wealth and its perils. ["Not since Charlotte Perkins Gilman's "The Yellow Wallpaper" has an author so effectively captured the descent into mental instability," read the starred review of the Black Cat: Grove Atlantic hc, LJ 2/1/14; see also "Best Books 2014: Top Ten," ow.ly/HMwnO.]
PREMIUM

Bad Feminist: Essays

Gay moves us in a positive direction by foregoing bitter rants and proselytizing and modeling instead on honesty, openness, and self-reflection. [See Prepub Alert, 2/24/14.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month