French, Jonathan

3 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The True Bastards

French’s sequel to The Grey Bastards, a 2018 LJ Best Book, continues the half-orcs’ penchant for rough rides, foul language, and heady action sequences. [See Prepub Alert, 4/1/19.]
PREMIUM

The Grey Bastards

This high-octane, high-testosterone fantasy with dirty-handed but loyal heroes is in the vein of Joe Abercrombie's "First Law" novels, Richard Kadrey's "Sandman Slim" books, and Mark Lawrence's "Broken Empire," but it's less grimdark and more optimistic. ["This gritty debut takes the swords and sorcery trope to new heights; a must for epic fantasy enthusiasts": LJ 6/15/18 starred review of the Crown hc.]
PREMIUM

The Grey Bastards

Winner of the 2016 Self-Publishing Fantasy Blog-Off (SPFBO), this gritty debut takes the swords and sorcery trope to new heights; a must for epic fantasy enthusiasts.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.