Flower, Amanda

6 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Dead-End Detective

The lead characters, with their realistic flaws, kick off a well-developed mystery that isn’t quite as cozy as Flower’s “Amish Candy Shop” mysteries. The cast and two interesting cats will appeal to readers of Miranda James.
PREMIUM

Death and Daisies

Introduce this series, with its charming characters and enchanting setting, to readers of other Scotland-set cozies, such as those by Paige Shelton and Molly MacRae. The magic realism aspect may appeal to fans of Ellery Adams and Sarah Addison Allen.
PREMIUM

Crime and Poetry: A Magical Bookshop Mystery

Flower, who also writes the "Amish Quilt Shop" stories as Isabella Allen, launches a delightful new cozy series populated with fun and quirky characters. This first adventure promises pleasures to come and is sure to please devotees of Victoria Laurie, Shirley Damsgaard, or E.J. Copperman.
PREMIUM

The Final Reveille: A Living History Museum Mystery

This first volume in a new series is somewhat predictable, but Flower (A Plain Disappearance) peppers it with enough historical detail and snarky one-liners to make readers intrigued to see what she'll do next.
PREMIUM

A Plain Death

A gentle and thoughtful Christian mystery, this series debut will appeal to readers wanting to learn more about the diversity within Amish communities. While her characterizations veer close to cardboard stereotypes, Flower succeeds at demonstrating her lead character's strong faith. This would appeal to those who have enjoyed P.L. Gaus's Amish mysteries. Flower, an academic librarian, also writes the "India Hayes Mystery" series (Murder in a Basket).
PREMIUM

Murder in a Basket

Perhaps the formula is familiar, but this humorous cozy moves at a steady clip, throwing in a monkey wrench or two to put readers off-track. Agatha Award nominee Flower has the chops to make this series last. Try this one with Jess Lourey, Avery Aames, and Donna Andrews fans. [See Prepub Alert, 8/2/11.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month