Evison, Jonathan

6 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Legends of the North Cascades

This modern back-to-the-land story feels like John Krakauer’s Into the Wild meets Jean M. Auel’s Clan of the Cave Bear, a combination that makes for a compelling read in its appreciation of the monumental properties of nature and recognition of the history of humans in the North Cascades.
PREMIUM

Lawn Boy

Readers who are uncomfortable with the author's frequent use of profanity and vulgarity will miss out on a deeply real portrait of an everyday Joe just trying to find his way. Evison combines humor, honesty, and anger with an insightful commentary on class that's also an effective coming-of-age novel. [See Prepub Alert, 10/16/17; library marketing.]
PREMIUM

This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!

Evison writes a quick-paced family drama, with enough lighthearted enthusiasm to soften the serious blows he delivers to our poor heroine and his readers. This title will be particularly appealing to fans of quirky, dysfunctional families and authors Maria Semple and Jami Attenberg. [See Prepub Alert, 4/6/15; a LibraryReads September pick.]
PREMIUM

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

Evison injects some levity with Trev's horny commentary and Ben's wry retorts, blending humor, sharp dialog, and a rich and detailed backstory into a sympathetic, bittersweet novel. This is one of the more successful entries in the "Sad Dad Lit" subgenre (think Thelma Adams's Playdate, Greg Olear's Fathermucker, or Emily Jane Miller's Brand New Human Being). A worthy purchase. [See Prepub Alert, 2/27/12; this title was highlighted at the Fourth Annual Shout & Share at BookExpo America 2012 ow.ly/buYSD—Ed.]
PREMIUM

West of Here

Evison's debut novel, All About Lulu (2009), won a Washington State Book Award...
PREMIUM

West of Here

Fans of Jess Walter and Jim Lynch will be thrilled to find another author whose love for the Pacific Northwest and its people shines through with humor and clarity. [Ten-city tour; this title was a pick at BEA and ALA "Editors Buzz" panels.—Ed.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?