Eve Stano

55 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Out of Character

The romance builds gradually, since Jasper must overcome his distrust of Milo, but Milo’s growth as a character and his and Jasper’s earnest romance is worth the wait. Characters and events from Conventionally Yours, the first in the “True Colors” series, are sprinkled throughout, so readers may want to start at the beginning.
PREMIUM

The Queer Principles of Kit Webb

Despite some pacing issues (a rather slow beginning and a hurried, action-packed end), readers will still enjoy the tussles between the high-class Percy and the Robin Hood–like Kit.
PREMIUM

Song of the Forever Rains

Mellow’s (The Animal Under the Fur) exciting premise is rather slow to start, and the romantic heat between Larkyra and Darius is tepid until the very end. Although the teenage heroine gives the book young adult crossover potential, readers will be left uncertain why Larkyra was in the dark as to Darius’s motives.

The Duke Undone

Impeccably researched, Lowell’s latest emphasizes justice. This love story tackles weighty issues but remains suspenseful and spellbinding.
PREMIUM

To Love and To Loathe

Waters excels at pitting Diana and Jeremy against each other with clever dialogue and comical situations to ensure a lively and steamy rivals-to-romance story. Readers of To Have and To Hoax will enjoy the return of Violet and Audley as supporting characters. A worthy addition to the trend for historical romantic comedies and highly recommended for fans of Evie Dunmore and Elizabeth Everett.
PREMIUM

A Lady’s Formula for Love

Despite some shortcomings, Everett’s Victorian-set debut keeps things light and amusing, depicting a world in which class and gender dictate everyday decisions, while spotlighting several women and one transgender man who have chosen to rebel against such strictures.
PREMIUM

Someday My Duke Will Come

Britton (“Twice Shy” series) uses the familiar fake engagement trope to further the romantic ties between Quincy and Clara, both of whom have beautifully detailed yet tragic backstories. Unfortunately, challenges to their romance and also Quincy’s dukedom are resolved a bit too conveniently to be believable. Series fans will enjoy following the characters from the first in the “Isle of Synne” series, who play prominent roles in this second installment. New readers should start with the first book, A Good Duke Is Hard To Find.
PREMIUM

The Heiress Gets a Duke

St. George (Falling for Her Viking Captive) heartrendingly depicts Victorian women bartered away for wealth and status, but the deep affection and witty dialog August and Evan share outshines a grim if realistic beginning. Fans of Courtney Milan and Scarlett Peckham will enjoy this “The Gilded Age Heiresses” series opener.

Gentleman Jim

Best-selling author of the “Victorian Romantics” series, Matthews ups the ante with a wildly suspenseful romance, filled with scheming and betrayals, and featuring a courageous heroine in fragile health paired with a hero bent on retribution who isn’t too good to be true.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?