Eve Stano

51 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

To Love and To Loathe

Waters excels at pitting Diana and Jeremy against each other with clever dialogue and comical situations to ensure a lively and steamy rivals-to-romance story. Readers of To Have and To Hoax will enjoy the return of Violet and Audley as supporting characters. A worthy addition to the trend for historical romantic comedies and highly recommended for fans of Evie Dunmore and Elizabeth Everett.
PREMIUM

A Lady’s Formula for Love

Despite some shortcomings, Everett’s Victorian-set debut keeps things light and amusing, depicting a world in which class and gender dictate everyday decisions, while spotlighting several women and one transgender man who have chosen to rebel against such strictures.
PREMIUM

Someday My Duke Will Come

Britton (“Twice Shy” series) uses the familiar fake engagement trope to further the romantic ties between Quincy and Clara, both of whom have beautifully detailed yet tragic backstories. Unfortunately, challenges to their romance and also Quincy’s dukedom are resolved a bit too conveniently to be believable. Series fans will enjoy following the characters from the first in the “Isle of Synne” series, who play prominent roles in this second installment. New readers should start with the first book, A Good Duke Is Hard To Find.
PREMIUM

The Heiress Gets a Duke

St. George (Falling for Her Viking Captive) heartrendingly depicts Victorian women bartered away for wealth and status, but the deep affection and witty dialog August and Evan share outshines a grim if realistic beginning. Fans of Courtney Milan and Scarlett Peckham will enjoy this “The Gilded Age Heiresses” series opener.

Gentleman Jim

Best-selling author of the “Victorian Romantics” series, Matthews ups the ante with a wildly suspenseful romance, filled with scheming and betrayals, and featuring a courageous heroine in fragile health paired with a hero bent on retribution who isn’t too good to be true.

Her Night with the Duke

Quincy (“Rebellious Brides” series) delivers a steamy Regency fraught with family discord as well as societal and racial prejudices. This gripping series starter ultimately triumphs with an honorable hero and a spirited Anglo-Arab heroine who fights for acceptance and love on her own terms.
PREMIUM

The London Restoration

Fans of the author may still want to give this a try. For readers seeking a more nuanced historical mystery, one might suggest Sherry Thomas’s “Lady Sherlock” series.

Fair as a Star

From the best-selling author of the “Paris Orphans of Devon” series comes a compassionate treatment of a heroine with a condition not commonly addressed in the historical romance subgenre. This, combined with Mark’s romantic gestures toward Beryl, results in a kindhearted love story that will delight anyone who longs to be loved without limits. Highly recommended.

PREMIUM

Best Laid Plaids

Debut author Stainton pairs a physically strong but wounded veteran with an emotionally vulnerable scholar, and their many erotic moments are offset by humor, sorrow, and the supernatural, making this a wickedly good start to the “Kilty Pleasures” series.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?